Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums > Dodge Ram General Forum > Garage


Garage

Trying to figure out where LoJack is.


This is a discussion on Trying to figure out where LoJack is. within the Garage forums, part of the Dodge Ram General Forum category!
Hey guys, I'm trying to figure out where my LoJack transmitter might be cuz I don't think its working and ...


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2016, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
corneileous's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lehigh, OK
Age: 40
Posts: 109

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default Trying to figure out where LoJack is.
Hey guys, I'm trying to figure out where my LoJack transmitter might be cuz I don't think its working and I really don want to pay the highly inflated price for LoJack to come out and service it. Anybody ever found theirs? Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sponsored Ad
Register to remove this ad.
corneileous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: kingston tn
Age: 71
Posts: 241

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: 5.7hemi
Default
do you have to pay a monthly service fee,if so just tell then you want to discontinue monitoring . I'm not qiute how lojac worked BUT NOT paying gets their attention real quick
brianj


__________________
brianj tncruiser
ruby red express HEMI
living life in east tn and going
wherever my ram, ,explorer and motorhome take us
tncruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
corneileous's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lehigh, OK
Age: 40
Posts: 109

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
There's no monthly fee or nothin. It was already in the truck when I bought it. All I had to do was provide a bunch of identification to prove ownership to have it transferred to my name.

Not sure myself how exactly this thing works but, for the plain models, the module isn't activated until LoJack tells it to once you call in and report your vehicle stolen. Mine has a fob that came with it that, if it isn't present in the vehicle once started and moved, LoJack sends alerts to you notifying of unauthorized movement of your vehicle.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
corneileous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
corneileous's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lehigh, OK
Age: 40
Posts: 109

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
The only thing they charge is the cost of the unit and the installation but when you buy a vehicle that has it in there already, all they "recommend" is fee to send someone out to test it and make sure that it works.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
corneileous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 06:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
averageguy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Belleville Mi
Age: 42
Posts: 334

Ram Year: 2015
Engine: hemi
Default
I am surprised Lojack still exists. I haven't heard or seen it advertised in years.
averageguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 08:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
corneileous's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lehigh, OK
Age: 40
Posts: 109

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Theyre probly not as popular as they once were considering all the advances in the technology but they're still around.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
corneileous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 09:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
jwheeler's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,489

Ram Year: 2010
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Leave the little fob at home one day when you go to work and see what happens. That will let you know if it is working.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jwheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 10:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
corneileous's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lehigh, OK
Age: 40
Posts: 109

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Originally Posted by jwheeler View Post
Leave the little fob at home one day when you go to work and see what happens. That will let you know if it is working.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


See, that's just it, I'm not sure if it is working or not or if it's just because of the area I live in. Since I got the thing transferred into my name over three years ago, I think I've only gotten one alert. I have two sets of keys I alternate but only one LoJack fob.

The other day though, I went down to a fairly big city and left the keys that has the little fob in it at home and I never got a single alert.

Considering the fact that this thing only works in certain areas, I may just yank it out when I find it and just pursue other, more simple and updated options for stolen vehicle recovery.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
corneileous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 10:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
corneileous's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lehigh, OK
Age: 40
Posts: 109

Ram Year: 2008
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
I just wish I could find more information about it elsewhere since LoJack is so tight-lipped about it.

From what I've read on other forums, it is wired to the vehicles unswitched power and supposedly uses a 12 volt battery as a backup. Some have said they did a good job of hiding it and others have said they didn't. Since this is a truck with limited space, it shouldn't be too hard to find. I hope.

If it is a bad connection in the wiring or a bad battery, I got no problem fixing the issue and continue using it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
corneileous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 04:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
jwheeler's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,489

Ram Year: 2010
Engine: Hemi 5.7
Default
Just talked to the lo jack guy at my work. He says that they are installed in a different place every time so they cannot be easily found. LoJack should have a record of where it is located because they are supposed to come check it out every 3 years or so. Depending on how old the unit is, it may need a battery or something.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jwheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't figure this out Cbmhomepros Engine & Performance 4 08-29-2015 05:40 PM
Can't Figure It Out... apepe0738 Audio & Electronics 14 03-23-2015 02:45 PM
Lojack nwram Audio & Electronics 6 11-30-2013 04:09 PM
Ok I need some help ... yes me go figure ramhunter9 Tech Info 53 03-22-2011 11:07 PM

<




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum