01 5.9 46RE help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Offroadgerwien

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Ram 5.9L
I received a 2001 2500 5.9L from a co-worker who claimed it needed too much work and was getting to old to be reliable. I've fixed all of the problems it had except for a transmission slip in second and third gear. I've performed some maintenance, like tightening up the two bands, changing the filter, and replacing all of the fluid with ATF 4. The slip persists. The previous owner claims the 46RE was rebuilt twice before but doesn't know what exactly was done at the shop. What I would like to know is what solenoids I should also replace and if there was a heavy duty version of them i can get online? And if anybody has some detailed pictures of the transmission layout? I'm a complete noob concerning transmissions so any help would be appreciated, thank you in advance guys.

EvilSpirit

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum
The short answer is probably one you don't want to hear. I'd try to find a quality shop to rebuild the trans. While just rebuilding a 46RE isn't that hard using a good reference manual, going into one that others have had their mittens into can open a can of worms. There have been several issues with these transmissions, like overdrive coolant flow, that there have been several methods of "fixing", and some don't play well with others. There are also several variations of "shift kits" that may or may not work with each other, not to mention some clash with the electronic governor function in the valve body. To be honest, even though I am reasonably familiar with these units, I would probably pull it apart, and if I didn't find a glaring error in assembly, I'd probably source another complete core to rebuild, or at least a valve body.