83' Rats Nest.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dan Dukes

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hey all. Wanted to know what the best way to rewire my truck would be. One of the previous owners did quite a job on it. There are a bunch of wing nuts (for house wiring, yes) and about 15k rolls of electrical tape holding this contraption together. Any advice on a rewire would be great. Im new to it and open to suggestions. Everything works btw. (Not sure how.) Its a solid running truck nontheless.

WilliamS

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Depending on how bad I would do a full gut on it. Sometimes on a classic its not worth some five cent wire nut to come loose and burn my truck to the ground. Its a nightmare of a job, but the finished product when done proper is invisible but to you its amazing.

Trying to find a donor harness isnt always possible, so the question is how are you soldering skills?

crazzywolfie

Reaction score
Ram Year
81 93
Engine
your best to likely just follow wire and pull any unnecessary wires and rewire what is there with maybe a few upgrades. the old trucks could have definitely benefited from the use of relays.

OP
OP
Dan Dukes

Dan Dukes

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
What sort of upgrades are we talking about here? Also, i do want to go a ground up rewire but i want it to be specific to what i need. Problem is im not sure to go about it. I want everything as it is but more modern if that makes sense. L.E.D. head and tail lights, new interior lights, trailering electrical, etc. Nothing crazy. Can i build a sort of main service panel so to speak? Obviously that isnt literal. But i want something that i can terminate all new circuits to that has one live wire to positive side of battery and seperate terminals and "breakers" so to speak. It probavly sounds stupid but any feedback is appreciated.