'98 1500 4x4 Front Axle Driveline & Wheel hub/bearing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

98WARWAGON

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
*FIRST POST*

I just got my hands on to a 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9l V8 gasser. Little disclaimer I am no expert but I do have a good knowledge of mechanics as I am a machinist by trade. I have had this truck for two weeks & first thing I did was oil change and fluid checks. I have a little bit of slop in the steering wheel and some wander (which Im learning is a bit common for the truck.)

Truck has been aligned however, I know my U-joints are shot. I want to replace the entire drive line for front axle as well as wheel hubs/bearing since ill be removing them to get to the drive line.

Here is the main issue I have,
I want to put DANA 44 driveline in I love these 4x4 axles. Driveline has a spline count of 30. I do not see any wheel hub/bearing with a spline count of 30! Moog says their spline count is 33 but both manufactures claim its a "universal" fitting.

Quick bit of research shows that the 30 spline count is what should be in the truck now. Id like to avoid tearing everything a part just to put no new parts back in. Has anybody come across this issue before? Recommendations for hub/bearing as Im pretty set on the Dana 44 gear.

OP
OP

98WARWAGON

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
98 1500 Front Axle Driveline & Wheel hub/bearing

*FIRST POST*

I just got my hands on to a 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9l V8 gasser. Little disclaimer I am no expert but I do have a good knowledge of mechanics as I am a machinist by trade. I have had this truck for two weeks & first thing I did was oil change and fluid checks. I have a little bit of slop in the steering wheel and some wander (which Im learning is a bit common for the truck.)