Blown Head Gasket or Warped Head???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

javajoe1981

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
4.7L
I'm a bit stumped here as I am not a mechanic, I apparently just know enough to get me in trouble but usually get it figured out. I will try to be as brief as possible but hope I can give as many details that someone can have some great advice here.

The radiator on my 2005 RAM 1500 decided to spring a leak in the middle of SF traffic and ended up overheating quite a bit before I could finally get it safely pulled over. (Thank God for AAA towing it for free back to Sacramento!) I ended up swapping out the radiator and thermostat thinking that would be the end of it... unfortunately this was not the case as it still overheated after driving it a block from the house. I first thought maybe coolant was flowing properly so I left the cap off and tried to warm it up to burp the coolant system, when coolant shot out of the radiator like Old Faithful, making me believe there was a compression leak in one of cylinders, this was the only sign I had of a possible blown head gasket. No obvious signs of oil in the coolant or coolant in the oil. I really didn't want to take it in and spend $2k to have it fixed when I knew I could probably do it far cheaper myself. I have never rebuilt an engine but did have some basic understanding and with a few guides here and there (one from this site which was a ton of help and the reason I decided to join this forum) I decided to take it on.