Cargo Lamp

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by MoparMan88_96, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. MoparMan88_96

    MoparMan88_96 Junior Member

    Age:
    20
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Ram Year:
    1996
    Engine:
    Magnum 5.2
    Hi everyone,
    I have a 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 and I wanted to rewire the cargo light to a toggle switch so that I can have the bed lights on without the interior lights on.
    I was thinking all I need to do is cut the pink wire from from the original switch and putting in the toggle switch instead. I was wondering if anyone here has done this or would know how to do this?

    Thanks
     
  2. dapepper9

    dapepper9 Senior Member

    Age:
    22
    Posts:
    4,830
    Likes Received:
    1,864
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Iowa/Nebraska Border
    Ram Year:
    2001
    Engine:
    5.9L V8
    Can't say anybody here has but it should be pretty straightforward. I would suggest a relay or swapping to LED bulbs that don't draw shit for amperage.
     
  3. MoparMan88_96

    MoparMan88_96 Junior Member

    Age:
    20
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Ram Year:
    1996
    Engine:
    Magnum 5.2
    So I am guessing I would connect a wire from a positive point (maybe right from the fuse box?) to a switch and then the pink that goes into the old switch will connect to my new one?

    Also, what relay would I need?
     
  4. dudeman2009

    dudeman2009 Senior Member

    Age:
    22
    Posts:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Ram Year:
    2001 1500 Sport with enough electrical modifications to make my brain hurt
    Engine:
    Magnum 360
    The solid pink wire is battery positive. The wire you need to run into your switch is the pink/dark blue wire. Switching the pink/dark blue wire to ground will turn on the cargo lamps.

    As for the switch, as long as its rated for at least 10A (to match the fuse) it will be fine. However, it will get hot if you push the switch near its limit, i'd recommend a 25A switch for the bigger contacts. The larger switch isn't very much bigger in size but will remain a lot cooler. Also, the larger switches can come with little illuminated images on them so others know what the function is and it doesnt look at jerry rigged.

    You can keep the incandescent bulbs in there given a switch of the proper rating is used. Most LEDs for that size will be a fraction of the brightness, or a fraction of the running hours. The ones that will last a while and are also just as bright or brighter than the factory bulbs are upwards of $7 a bulb, but its well worth it.
     
  5. MoparMan88_96

    MoparMan88_96 Junior Member

    Age:
    20
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Ram Year:
    1996
    Engine:
    Magnum 5.2
    Okay, that helps a lot. Thanks dudeman2009
     

Share This Page