Drum Brakes.............

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DumbInvestment

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.9
Hello Everyone
So today I had the day off of work and decided it was a good day to change some drum brakes. I have never done it before but I watched some youtube videos and figured I knew enough. Everything went smooth until I put the drum back on. IT WOULD NOT FIT! I made sure that the adjuster was all the way back and all the parts where seated properly. It seemed like the braking part (the actual material for the friction) on the shoe was just too much on the front shoe. The holes also did not line up it seemed like the front side was just too much forward. Any ideas on what might be wrong because I am at a loss.
I ended up putting on the old ones that are paper thin and cracked until I have more time to look at them.
I thought that they gave me the wrong shoes but apparently they didn't

Extra Info-
I was working on the rear passenger side
2001 Dodge ram 1500 Laramie 4x4
They are whearever brakes the shelf number is s723 at advance auto. ($20.00 for both sides)
Yes, The parking brake was off.

muttmutt

Reaction score
Ram Year
2016 Ram Sport
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Make sure the front shoe is in the front position. Take a look at all four shoes. There may be two for the right side and two for the left. Sometimes the shoe itself is different lengths for the leading and following shoe.

OP
OP
D

DumbInvestment

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.9
Thanks for the reply, I assume I had them in the correct order because two shoes had the pin for the parking brake lever already pressed in so the one that I put on the rear of the drum was the only one that would work. Im just currious if it is possible that the two that did not have a pin pressed in would be different they looked to me to be identical.

dudeman2009