HD Tire Pressure Monitoring System Reset

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty' started by MADDOG, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. reb0957

    reb0957 Senior Member

    Posts:
    330
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Location:
    Broussard, LA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    5.7l
    just to be sure I am clear. If I want to run my tires at 60, set step 1 at 60 and step 2 at 50
    Thanks
     
  2. SETEX 6.4

    SETEX 6.4 Senior Member

    Posts:
    637
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    Port Neches, TX
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    Well I brought my truck to the dealer yesterday for recalls and warranty work.
    I printed out the steps for changing TPMS thresholds. Lady said no problem.
    She calls me yesterday afternoon and tells me that one tech said it wouldn't work and the other said he would do it. She said it would cost me $120 because that was not covered under warranty. I told them that was bs and I understood that it wasn't under warranty but $120, come on. I told her maybe $50 tops. It shouldn't take that long to do.
    I went to the dealer to pick my truck up and she said she talked to the service manager about the $50 price and now they are saying that Chrysler/RAM has locked them out of even performing this change. In other words, "they cant do it".
    Sounds like a crock of shit cop out excuse to me.
    I wish they would just say, sorry sir we don't feel comfortable doing this for liability reasons. I was pissed about it.
    I did half the work for them by printing out the instructions.
    I guess I will just continue living with the light for now.
     
  3. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,163
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    Well that sucks. My dealer had no problem with it, it took 20 minutes of my time and no bucks from my wallet.

    They said if they had been asked to turn it off they would have turned me down and I agree with that. However, this was requested to fix a known issue with the system to modify the settings appropriate to the tire on the truck and they were all for it.

    Running at over inflation is dangerous and not warranted simply because some programming dweeb thinks all 2500's should run a tire more fit for use on a forklift.
     
  4. reb0957

    reb0957 Senior Member

    Posts:
    330
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Location:
    Broussard, LA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    5.7l
    Mine didn't even read the print out. He told me that they took that right away from the dealer years ago and would not even attempt it. I guess the shocking part to me is this particular dealer customizes tons of trucks. They can't run all those tires at 80 PSI. They even have a megacab on 40" fuel tires and 22" rims.
     
  5. AJ_IOOF

    AJ_IOOF Member

    Posts:
    85
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    Maricopa AZ
    Ram Year:
    2014 RAM 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    Had mine in for recall work over the weekend. Gave them a print out of the procedure. They charged me $20 and had me sign a waiver that they are not responsible if I have a blowout as a result of low tire pressure. The fix worked immediately. No 50-100 to adjust or anything. Problem solved...

    If your dealership won't do it for you, give them the old :flipthebird: and find another dealership...
     
  6. AJ_IOOF

    AJ_IOOF Member

    Posts:
    85
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    Maricopa AZ
    Ram Year:
    2014 RAM 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    Had mine in for recall work over the weekend. Gave them a print out of the procedure. They charged me $20 and had me sign a waiver that they are not responsible if I have a blowout as a result of low tire pressure. The fix worked immediately. No 50-100 miles to adjust or anything. Problem solved...

    If your dealership won't do it for you, give them the old :flipthebird: and find another dealership...
     
  7. Buckfat

    Buckfat Senior Member

    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Ram Year:
    2014-1500/2016-2500
    Engine:
    5.7/6.4 Hemi
    Had my dealer do the procedure but hurt someone's pride at the same time. Told the tech what to do and he stated that he has done tons of them. I mentioned that my truck was a 16 and the procedure was different from past trucks. After he tried and tried he came out and said it can not be done.I asked if I could come back and watch him use his computer. Of course he was only doing step one I then mentioned to do both steps like I asked . Just as soon as he finished the second step the light went out. He did not say another word to me , think his pride was hurt that I knew more than him. One of the other techs had me text him a picture of the procedure so they would have it for future trucks.
     
  8. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,163
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    ^^^^ If the tech won't follow instructions, then he needs his feelers hurt. ^^^^
     
    GsRAM and PippinAin'tEasy like this.
  9. SouthernBoy

    SouthernBoy Senior Member

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    366
    Likes Received:
    189
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    Okay guys, Im wanting to take my 2015 in to the stealership and have the TPMS redone as spelled out on the steps in this thread. Im still a bit ignorant on this topic, so I have a few questions if you guys can help me out.
    For the record, the truck is setup from the Factory with 60 up front 80 in the back. Id like to run the tires at 60 lbs for everyday driving and have the ability to put 80 in the back if I have to tow a big load on the gooseneck.


    Im a bit unclear about what is meant by ",,,, be in the middle of the high and low"

    I read someone said something about "threshhold" and "minimum" pressures, can someone clarify for me? What figures do I need to tell these guys when I drop it off?



    Also, can someone be a little more clear on this entire part:

    Thanks for the ongoing help fellas !
     
  10. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,163
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    My low setting (when an alarm will sound) is 50psi, my tire pressures are set at 55 psi cold.

    The upper limit is set at 80 so I can run 70 - 72 with the 5'vr hooked up and still account for psi growth as the tires heat up.
     

Share This Page