Help with bed led strips

Discussion in 'Tech Info' started by Malibuz0r, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. Malibuz0r

    Malibuz0r Member

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi
    So I'm not very good with electrics, after a bunch of googling I've wired the bed lights my self.

    Everything seems to work great WHEN the truck is off.

    The way I wired the bed lights is I tapped to the cargo lights wire (white w/ tan stripe), so they turn on when I unlock the truck or pressing the cargo light button inside. That works fine.

    Now, the problem is that whenever the truck is on, and I press the cargo light button, both the cargo light and the bed led strips turn on for a second then off. The cargo light indicator on the cluster remains on though..

    Here's a retardedly made diagram of how I wired them..

    [​IMG]

    Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

    Thanks

    Edit: Here's what I'm using for the LED strips
     
  2. Brew99

    Brew99 Member

    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Victoria, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    3.6
    I don't know exactly what might be your issue, but I suggest troubleshooting first buy removing the 5a fuse, and trying to see if the cargo light works as normal. Leave all else hooked up.

    I wonder if the load is too much for the cargo light circuit, and it shuts it down?

    Sorry I can't be of more help
     
  3. crash68

    crash68 Senior Member

    Posts:
    846
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    3.0 EcoDiesel
    It's possibly because the cargo light is monitored for burn out like practically all the light bulbs are and you have added the additional ground path. I've read about people having similar issues wiring aux LEDs in as back-up lights in a similar fashion. Also too much/not enough current can also cause issues.
    Add a switch and power the LED strips off the battery(move your fuse close to the battery) or the 12 V wire going to the 7 pin trailer plug.
     
  4. sbarron

    sbarron Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,727
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    5.7 HEMI
    As Brew stated, pull the fuse and check your cargo light. If it works as normal, the extra load from the bed lights is causing the CANBUS system to shut he circuit down. In that case use the cargo light power as a trigger signal for a relay. Done and done.
     
    9th likes this.
  5. Ram Man

    Ram Man Senior Member

    Posts:
    473
    Likes Received:
    94
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    FL
    Ram Year:
    2013 Sport
    Engine:
    5.7
    I just wired in some led lights to the 7 pin this weekend but didn't have time to hook up a fuse inline... How important is this step?

    I keep outsmarting my common sense on this question...
     
  6. SilverStreak88

    SilverStreak88 Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    1,583
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ram Year:
    2007
    Engine:
    5.7 Eco Gasser
    LED's take such little power to run you should be OK, but I would for sure throw a 10A fuse in there.
     
  7. crash68

    crash68 Senior Member

    Posts:
    846
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    3.0 EcoDiesel
    If you use a smaller fuse for the LEDs, if something goes wrong, you won't lose the one under the hood for the plug itself. The size switch I used would probably melt if 20 amps went through it
     
  8. 2015HD

    2015HD Senior Member

    Posts:
    197
    Likes Received:
    87
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Location:
    Maine
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    ^This

    The burnout monitoring caused me all sorts of headaches trying to install a backup camera by tapping into reverse lights. Finally got frustrated and had OEM backup camera installed.
     
    crash68 likes this.
  9. Malibuz0r

    Malibuz0r Member

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi
    Thanks guys. The relay was indeed what was needed. I had to wait almost a week from when I made my post until today to get installed. Car rear ended my baby..
     

Share This Page