How To: 13-14 premium cluster upgrade

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by cody4130, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. cody4130

    cody4130 Junior Member

    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Just like the title says

    Tools needed:

    1 towel or similar

    T20 torx bit

    9/32 or 7mm socket

    Ratchet


    First cover the top of your steering column with a towl to prevent scratches. Trust me the cluster is a tight fit for install and removal and you will scratch it if you don't cover it.

    Second remove the 4 T20 torx screws from the top of the cluster bezel and push down lightly on the top of the bezel pushing it down about 1" releasing it from the dash. Once the top is free of the dash pull straight out on the bottom part of the bezel it is held in by two clips.

    Next remove the two 9/32" bolts in the bottom corners of the cluster. These are the only things holding the cluster in place. Once they are removed rotate the passenger side of the cluster to the left. You should be able to reach behind and unplug the cluster.

    Once the cluster is unplugged rotate it back around and pull it out toward the steering wheel. Then rock the bottom towards the wheel and feed the top up behind the wheel and pull it out through the top. You may need to tilt the wheel up or down and move the cluster around to find the "sweet spot". my express cluster came out easier than my premium one went in due to a slightly different shape.

    Installation is the reverse of removal remember to be gentle and try not to fingerprint the lens up. Plastic cling wrap can be applied to your new cluster prior to installation to prevent unwanted fingerprints

    Enjoy your new fancier cluster :)
     

    Attached Files:

    R.L.K., hipnotikrcr and z28th1s like this.
  2. N1ck

    N1ck Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    518
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Regina Sk
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    5.7
    For sure keeping my eye open for a km/h cluster to swap!
     
  3. cody4130

    cody4130 Junior Member

    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    FYI I bought a new one from a supplier with 0miles and it worked just fine in my truck have over 150 on it now. My truck had a liittle over 2k on the express cluster. Only discrepancy I notice is in "hours driven and hours idle" menu. It reads really long numbers, in the millions, but the "Total" number is correct .
     
  4. S2kiHemi

    S2kiHemi Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Ram Year:
    09
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    So your miles are off now?
     
  5. cody4130

    cody4130 Junior Member

    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Whatever miles the cluster you buy has is what will be displayed. The miles are in the clusters memory not the trucks. If the cluster you buy has more miles it will show more miles, less it will show less. My truck had 2k my cluster had 0 so it started over at 0.
    If you need/want (leased truck, ect) the mileage to be exactly the same as when you took your old cluster out my suggestion is buy a premium cluster as soon as you buy your truck they are less than $500 new at the dealership.
    I bought my truck outright and do my own service so I'm not worried about the small 2k mile difference between what my truck had and what my new cluster has.
     
  6. 14RamRod

    14RamRod Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 HEMI
    Thanks for the info. There goes another $500. Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Vikingofthedisco likes this.
  7. cgeorgemo

    cgeorgemo Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    515
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    3.6 Pentastar

    Could you please add the part number for the premium cluster to the write up?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  8. cody4130

    cody4130 Junior Member

    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    P/N 56046544AF is the one I used description says it's for a SLT/Laramie but I'm certain there are other numbers for different models like longhorn and limited.
     
  9. Speedy12139

    Speedy12139 Member

    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Bancroft, ON
    Ram Year:
    2011
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    I'm curious, does the screen in the middle show different information? can you post a few more photos?

    I had wondered if this, and the middle part of the dashboard (the bit that has the nav unit) is a direct swap into the older rams
     
  10. cgeorgemo

    cgeorgemo Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    515
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    3.6 Pentastar

    The 13 and 14 Rams have a different plug for the instrument cluster than the older 4th generation trucks. The older 4th generation trucks had 2 plugs while the 13 and 14 have only 1.


    Sent from Skynet terminal 142a5
     

Share This Page