Mystery under-dash plugs... anyone?

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Skeer, Dec 3, 2016.

  1. Skeer

    Skeer Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Big Sky Country
    Ram Year:
    2002 Ram 1500 4x4 SLT
    Engine:
    5.9
    So tonight I went plug hunting, mainly because I am still having the airbag chime and light issue.

    Two questions:
    Anyone know what these are for/go to?
    When did the rams first have floor lighting?

    This one is mounted downward between the hood release and the center dash (hvac/radio) area. If I pull teh cap off it reveals a plug with roughly 20 pins.. but it's covered with a cap, nothing plugged into it.
    [​IMG]

    This one is mounted above teh parking brake pedal assembly.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Skeer

    Skeer Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Big Sky Country
    Ram Year:
    2002 Ram 1500 4x4 SLT
    Engine:
    5.9
    Well it seems I cant paste Imgur links here?
     
  3. Core-Lokt

    Core-Lokt Senior Member

    Posts:
    382
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Ram Year:
    2005 Ram 2500 4X4 ST
    Engine:
    5.7L
    Without a picture, I'm guessing the OBD II port. Look up a picture of one and see if that's it.
     
  4. RaMonty

    RaMonty Junior Member

    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ram Year:
    2007
    Engine:
    5.9 Cummins
    Very often, the airbag light issue is a plug up under your seat. If something was stuffed under there, it could have dislodged it. It doesn't take much. Try reseating all of the plugs under there.
     
  5. Skeer

    Skeer Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Big Sky Country
    Ram Year:
    2002 Ram 1500 4x4 SLT
    Engine:
    5.9
    Nope.. I'd hope most people know what teh ODB2 port looks like. I guess this evening Ill try some different image host...
     
  6. Skeer

    Skeer Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Big Sky Country
    Ram Year:
    2002 Ram 1500 4x4 SLT
    Engine:
    5.9
    I have two plugs under the driver's seat. One that's just a coupler and the second connected to a Y. First end runs to the driver seatbelt latch, second to a this length of loom under teh center 'seat'. Then another Y... one to teh center seat belt latch then the last one to the passenger seat belt latch.
    Bad thing is, it's so intermittent and inconsistent. Rough roads like washboard gravel sometimes make it go off. Other times, like a few minutes ago raising the steering wheel made it go off. Sometimes it's putting the truck into drive/reverse. A few times it goes off while cruising down the interstate in a straight line. Just weird.
     
  7. Bullitt5339

    Bullitt5339 Senior Member

    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    507
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Location:
    St Pauls, NC
    Ram Year:
    2004
    Engine:
    3.7
    The plug for a brake controller is usually located over there by the emergency brake pedal. Without pictures, it's hard to tell.
     
  8. crazzywolfie

    crazzywolfie Senior Member

    Posts:
    14,039
    Likes Received:
    2,138
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    under the truck
    Ram Year:
    81 93
    Engine:
    5.2
    fix it for you
     
  9. Skeer

    Skeer Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Big Sky Country
    Ram Year:
    2002 Ram 1500 4x4 SLT
    Engine:
    5.9
    Whats you do Crazzy? I pasted the correct url earlier.
     
  10. crazzywolfie

    crazzywolfie Senior Member

    Posts:
    14,039
    Likes Received:
    2,138
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    under the truck
    Ram Year:
    81 93
    Engine:
    5.2
    you pasted a link to the page where the pictures are instead of links to the actual pictures. i went to the page they were on and right clicked on the pictures and copied image address and then pasted it in the box like you did.
     

Share This Page