Rear Main Seal

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rambling

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 4.7
Anyone ever have to replace the rear main seal on their 3rd Gen Ram..?
I noticed last year that I was leaking oil on my 1500 so I had it looked at. After an examination by couple mechanics, they both said it was my rear main seal that was leaking. But the mechanic I take my Ram to told me it was around a 5-6 hour job, (For A $30 Seal). He told me he would have to remove the drive shaft, transfer case, cross member, and the transmission to change the seal. And that's if everything goes alright, no broken bolts.

But when doing some research online and on RF, I've read that the transmission doesn't need to be completely removed, only separated. I'm no mechanic obviously, but is dropping the transmission really necessary..? Or does doing so only make replacing the rear main seal that much easier..? I'm thinking about getting this done soon as my leak is getting worse. I'm having to add about 1.5 quarts of oil per 1400 kilometres. Any insight on this is greatly appreciated.

Core-Lokt

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 ST
Engine
5.7L
It's moot, I think. You'd still have 99% of the work in the procedure, regardless.

smiley

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 Ram 2500 Crew
Engine
6.7L Cummins
Take it to another place. Probably $150 job with parts by an independent shop.

Jersey ram

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7

Didn't want to bump an old thread but are you serious about $150 job? I'm debating trying to change my rear main because I was turned off by some of the quotes I've read people had gotten, but $150 would save me a ton of grief...

yoda

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi

????? seriously $150 job. I would not take my truck to any shop willing to do this job for $150.