REC Radio Missing Sirius Channels

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Nick13, Dec 6, 2014.

  1. Nick13

    Nick13 Junior Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2006
    Engine:
    Hemi
    Does anyone have a REC radio (06 - 09 w/nav) with sirius active? If so, do you have channels 11, 12, 55, and 57?

    I am missing at least those channels, and no one seems to have an answer for me. I tried searching with no luck. Sirius thinks the solution is to keep sending me refresh signals. Nothing has solved the issue.

    This started around July when they updated their channel listings.
     
  2. Nick13

    Nick13 Junior Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2006
    Engine:
    Hemi
    Anyone else dealing with this?

    It would be really helpful knowing this, as I'm either replacing my REC with another one, or upgrading to the Mygig or a Kenwood. I'm starting to have screen issues.
     
  3. xb1230

    xb1230 Senior Member

    Posts:
    950
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Location:
    South Shore of Montreal, QC, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2002
    Engine:
    4.7L Magnum V8 (Semi-HEMI... Wishful thinking!)
    2 ideas pop to mind

    1. Contact SIRIUS and ask them to send the reflash activation codes to your radio and it might unlock the missing channels.
    2. A stealership may have a software update they can apply that would reactivate this.

    However if you are starting to have display issues, I would definitely look at replacing the head unit. I don't have recommendations on the head unit to chose, but I myself prefer to remain with OEM stuff when it comes to electronics but that's my personal preference. Lots of people have aftermarket units and have no issues and can definitely enjoy great audio in their trucks.
     
  4. Nick13

    Nick13 Junior Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2006
    Engine:
    Hemi
    1. I have talked to Sirius at least 5 times. Each time they swear the solution is a refresh packet. One time they deactivated my radio, and then reactivated it. On top of that I have attempted many times to refresh the radio myself. Still nothing.

    That's why I'm hoping someone who has an REC could hop in their truck, and check those channels for me. If no one gets them, there's no use of me going through this.

    2. I haven't tried the stealer yet. Next time I bring it in I'll have to ask, unless I can figure it out.

    The screen isn't horrible yet. I lost my red color, and blue is starting to go in and out. The screen hasn't gone black yet, it has started distorting occasionally.

    I usually prefer OEM as well. I wouldn't hate another REC, I would just get an updated nav disc. Plus, the REC is already hooked up with the rear seat dvd player. The only downside is the aux port.

    I have a nice Kenwood nav unit in my mustang. I was thinking of going with the same one otherwise.
     
  5. G8rDuc

    G8rDuc Member

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Ram Year:
    2007
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    My REC is also missing certain stations. I figured they would send a new code but I just haven't bothered calling. Let me check to see if I'm missing those specific stations.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. TXrun800

    TXrun800 Junior Member

    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Ram Year:
    2005
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Missing channels

    I have a 2005 REC with a full lifetime subscription (back when they offered those.) I am also missing the same channels. Noticed it last Apr and have done numerous refreshes and about 5 hr long calls with Sirius.

    A senior Sirius programming tech is now looking at the problem but they are currently saying the memory in the delphi adapter for the REC does not enough memory to play the additional channels. They are researching a software solution on their end but advising the hardware needs to be upgraded.

    Anyone found another solution?
     
  7. daggertats

    daggertats Senior Member

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    261
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    arden nc
    Ram Year:
    2011 ram reg cab 4x4
    Engine:
    4.7
    I just got an email the other day and they are moving some channels around to different numbers on the dial.....I cant recall when this is happening or what channels though
     
  8. PdPuNOme

    PdPuNOme Senior Member

    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ram Year:
    2006
    Engine:
    5.7
    I am having same issue ALOT of channels missing probably only get 40 out of the 150+ I am paying for. Sirius is useless they keep saying have to go to dealer as module is outdated.
     

Share This Page