Reliability & Durability of the V6?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kathyricks

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
V6
I'm new to RAM pickups as I've been a Toyota pickup man for 30 years, but have been drawn to considering buying a RAM after renting a 2WD V6 quadcab 1500 during the Xmas week and discovering the comfort of the seats and how smooth and carlike the ride is and compared to Tacoma, Tundra and an F150 I rented earlier.

So I'm wondering if the RAM V6 is a proven design with good reliability and durability or is it a relatively new engine with an unproven reputation or does hit have some known engineering weaknesses? Thanks alot. Ditto the 8 speed automatic. Thanks alot.

Trooper2

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
The Penastar engine is a good engine. If you are looking for fuel economy then the V6 is the way to go. However, I have a 2017 HEMI. I had a 2013 HEMI and I traded it in for a smaller truck and regretted it two days later. Now that I'm back in a Ram I a happy camper. The ride is great and the power of the V8 is more then enough for my dad bod. Do what you need to that best suits you. The Tacomas are nice trucks by the way.

huntergreen

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
Imho, the comfort found in ram trucks can't be beat. The v6 has been a solid engine in my wrangler. Choose your gearing to suit your needs.

malatu

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.6 L Pentastar
I've had my 2016 for about 15 months now and with 20K on the clock. I haven't had a single issue with it. I too am pleased with the comfort and ride of the vehicle. My last daily driver was a 2006 Cadillac STS.