Should I buy this diesel when I dont tow

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Prellz

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9l Cummins
I want a diesel because they last a long time and I want to be able to buy one vehicle preferably a pick up truck and not replace it anytime in the near future. I have heard of diesels running up 500k miles and even 800k which is what I would love to do. The specs are below

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 Lone Star Cummins 600 5.9L I6 DI 24V High-Output Turbodiesel, ABS brakes, Compass, Heated door mirrors, Illuminated entry, Remote keyless entry.

Miles: 90864
Fuel: Diesel
Transmission: 6 Speed Manual
Drivetrain: RWD
Price:25k

I maybe towing in the far future as well (small boat, small trailer) but the main motivation is to have a vehicle that lasts. I'm new to diesel and new to the mechanic community. As a result I'm a little intimidated and would like as much advice and/or information on my idea to purchase. I will be moving a lot because I'm in the military. I don't have tools to work on cars but willing to buy and learn. Only downside I can see is the rwd and maintenance cost.

questions...
What maintenance is required, how often and how much?
Any known issues with the Cummins 5.9L?
Any warnings for using a manuel trans?
Anything you wish you knew before buying your first diesel?

ramportin1

Sickest member here
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I want a diesel because they last a long time and I want to be able to buy one vehicle preferably a pick up truck and not replace it anytime in the near future. I have heard of diesels running up 500k miles and even 800k which is what I would love to do. The specs are below

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 Lone Star Cummins 600 5.9L I6 DI 24V High-Output Turbodiesel, ABS brakes, Compass, Heated door mirrors, Illuminated entry, Remote keyless entry.

Miles: 90864
Fuel: Diesel