Slight miss during idle, lots of new parts. What next?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TXd150

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I have a '87 D150 with 318/auto 2bbl
I have installed new plugs,wires,cap,rotor,temp sensor,and EGR valve. The truck seems to run well on the road,smooth that is. I do feel a slight miss/fumble during idle after the truck has warmed up. I checked around for obvious vacuum leaks but haven't done any true vacuum testing. Any suggestions on where to start looking for the cause of this miss?

Deblackmon3

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
LA 318
I want to say that you're running a tad bit lean, and your engine missing is your engine soft seizing. Since you already replaced a lot of parts that could cause this, I'd say there is a vacuum leak somewhere in the line.

Again, I'm no expert so don't quote me on this repair. Honestly, I wish that was what's wrong with my engine. A slight miss during idle would be a dream, since I surge almost always and run incredibly hot all the time. If I don't rebuild my engine soon my engine will be ******.

OP
OP
T

TXd150

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Did some checking around yesterday and found that my EGR was leaking around the gasket. I tightened it down and help a little. Plan on removing it and adding some gasket sealant to cure the leak. I still think its something else. BTW, like your truck. I wish I could see my grille. It's hiding behind a ugly ranch grille protector.

Deblackmon3

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
LA 318
Did some checking around yesterday and found that my EGR was leaking around the gasket. I tightened it down and help a little. Plan on removing it and adding some gasket sealant to cure the leak. I still think its something else. BTW, like your truck. I wish I could see my grille. It's hiding behind a ugly ranch grille protector.