Towing question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nightruck

Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 Ram SLT 3500
Engine
Cummings
Just got my 2018 3500 diesel. I am new to the diesel truck ownership. I have been pouring over my user guide trying to familiarize myself with everything. (a little overwhelming). In the towing section under one of the caution blocks it states not to tow anything for the 1st 500 miles. Easy enough. It then states that during the first 500 miles that a trailer is towed, do not drive over 50 miles per hour. Does that mean during the next 500 miles of driving and towing or is that just towing miles. Also I wood appreciate ANY other advice or tips on break in and just good to know driving considerations. Thank you.

BossHogg

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7L Cummins
Here is the problem, you got (should have) two owners' manuals, one is for the RAM 1500, 2500, and 3500. The second is the diesel supplement, the first half is for the ECODiesel, the second half is for the Cummins.

What you read and posted above came from the RAM 1500, 2500, 3500 manual which covers gasoline powertrains. In the diesel supplement, under the second section (mine is page 147) "Engine Break-in Recommendations", you will see the recommendations for the Cummins. Here is their suggestion;

"Because of the construction of the Cummins® turbocharged diesel engine, engine run-in is enhanced by loaded operating conditions which allow the engine parts to achieve final finish and fit during the first 6,000 miles (10 000 km)."

Regarding the axel break-in period, it applies to all RAM's gas or diesel.

After my first 500 miles, I loaded our 15,000-pound fiver and took off. I'd say I didn't really notice the Cummins getting into its grove until around 12,000 miles.