Where did you mount your 12v switches?

Discussion in 'Interior' started by rebel89820, May 27, 2014.

  1. dodge dude94

    dodge dude94 Senior Member

    Age:
    23
    Posts:
    27,481
    Likes Received:
    6,271
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ram Year:
    1998 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    5.9 Magnum
    Take out the ashtray and make a special holder for them. It'll look awesome.
    It seems like it's a ways down there, but it's really not that bad. I've considering moving my driving lights to a spot down there, but then I'd have 1in sloted hole in my knee bolster. :uhoh2:
     
  2. BlackMagnum2000

    BlackMagnum2000 Senior Member

    Age:
    20
    Posts:
    6,145
    Likes Received:
    2,315
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Locust Grove, GA
    Ram Year:
    2000
    Engine:
    5.9 Magnum
    JB weld ;) haha jk
     
  3. dodge dude94

    dodge dude94 Senior Member

    Age:
    23
    Posts:
    27,481
    Likes Received:
    6,271
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ram Year:
    1998 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    5.9 Magnum
    Well....I thought about it, then remembered I'd have to have a gray interior to make that even come close to working. :Grenade:
     
  4. rebel89820

    rebel89820 Senior Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    nevada
    Ram Year:
    2001
    Engine:
    Magnum 5.9
    Thanks... pretty excited to get it all done. Hopefully the powder coat on the light bar will look decent this time, had thin spots all over it on the first attempt so I took it back.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR
     
  5. rebel89820

    rebel89820 Senior Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    nevada
    Ram Year:
    2001
    Engine:
    Magnum 5.9
    I've seen color matched blank covers specifically for filling switch cut outs but can't remember where... I'll do some looking and get back at ya....

    Sent from my DROID RAZR
     
  6. AussieRam

    AussieRam Junior Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Ram Year:
    1999
    Engine:
    360
    Hi guys, I made a switch panel to the shape of the panel that goes under steering column. Made the panel out of Fibre Fill. The panel detaches easily and the switches still clip in as normal.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. BlackMagnum2000

    BlackMagnum2000 Senior Member

    Age:
    20
    Posts:
    6,145
    Likes Received:
    2,315
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Locust Grove, GA
    Ram Year:
    2000
    Engine:
    5.9 Magnum
    That's pretty nice. A lot better than mine. I took DD94s idea, ill get a picture in the morning
     
    AussieRam likes this.
  8. wermbang

    wermbang Senior Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    9,707
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ram Year:
    2001 Off Road
    Engine:
    5.9L V8 Sport
    Used a piece of black acrylic I had (bathtub liner)
    There is a fuse block behind the dash as well, with all power meeting at it.
    [​IMG]
     
    ROSSHW likes this.
  9. fastSdime

    fastSdime Member

    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Location:
    Westmoreland, KS
    Ram Year:
    1999 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    5.9 Magnum 360
    I have switches mounted in two different spots.

    This is for my fogs in the stock location.
    [​IMG]

    This switches are for the halo's on my fogs and use to be for the bumper lights I had before I hit the deer.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Merc225hp

    Merc225hp Senior Member

    Posts:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    3,119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    NA
    Ram Year:
    truck
    Engine:
    gas
    I made up this little panel for my light switches. It's ok when off-road and you don't have to be messing with them. But for road use they are to far out of reach. Thinking of going old school high beam floor switch for the one set that gets used more often.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page