2013 no power, no start

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

okmitch77

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey all, I have a 2013 1500 5.7 with a no electric, no start condition. Turned the truck off to go to the post office, came back and opened the door and I do not have my gauge cluster, lights, and no click or anything when i try to start. Got battery tested and its good. I have noticed one thing however, when I stick the fob into the ignition the rpm and speedometer move up to the 0 line and will hold and I also can see the display darken. That is the only action this truck has lol. I gave the relays and fuses a once over, also swapped out the relays to see if i could make the problem move and no luck. I was a mechanic in the Army for 25 years and this to me sounds like the ECM could be the culprit, however I know how important grounds are with electric problems. Just a couple of notes, this truck doesn't have remote start and the only mods is a bullydog tune. I can easily take the tune off this thing, and thats what I plan on doing because if this thing has to go to the dealer they will flash it and i will lose it. So, who feels like helping a fella out with some tips?

Thanks for reading this mess.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
It wouldn't be the ECM that shuts every down it would probably be the BCM (Body Control Module).
Have you tried disconnecting the battery for a few minutes

OP
OP
okmitch77

okmitch77

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Yes, I have disconnected the battery for at least 30 minutes while I made my son take me and the battery to AutoZone to get it tested. It tested good. I wasn't aware of a BCM, where would that be located? Also, thanks for the advice.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member