2015 1500 massively screwed. Lost only ignition key fob and locked out.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Hemi_Don

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
360 Magnum
This story made me think about the many times I locked myself out of cars or trucks in my 60 years of car/truck repair ! My cars and customer cars. Early on I got good with coat hangers and tow truck "keys". Now I carry spare door keys in my wallet for my Ram 1500 and '74 Duster. And yes, now I use them more than ever !!

mtwofeathers

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Diesel 5.9
OK kids, here's the deal, I am a locksmith, DO NOT confuse a trunk slammer for a real locksmith, trunk slammers are the guys you find on the edge of the phone book, he'll show up and get you in and probably damage your car in the process. A real experienced locksmith will access the vehicle and can make you keys and fobs without any codes from the dealer and in the end the only way you'll know he was there is you have a key and a lighter wallet.
When you buy a vehicle, make it a part of the deal that you get spare keys, having one key is the dealers problem until you hand over your money then you just bought that problem. Remember one is one away from none and none is expensive.
Because I have a high volume business it allows me to buy large quantities of chip keys and fobs and get a good price on them, so my customers get a good price. The fob for this members 2015 Ram I sell for $50 including programming (that's not a typo $50) as long as the customer come to me at my shop so a spare fob does not have to require a second mortgage.