2015 Tuning

Discussion in 'Hemifever Tuning' started by hemifever, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. hemifever

    hemifever Preferred Vendor

    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    102
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    5.7
    I have tuned a 2015 5.7 Ram and it seems to respond much like the 2014 models. Tuning is much quicker on the '15 as it doesn't take 30 min to download the backup file (maybe that's due to the different ECU).

    For now, and maybe forever, it WILL take a 2nd ECU. I have the ECU/Tuner packages setup but I don't expect shipping availability for another week. Its really close though. The benefit in the 2nd ECU is there's no need to restore stock files when going to the dealer. Swap the factory ECU back in within a few minutes time.

    these prices do include the extra tuning services. Here are the links for ordering:

    Trinity and ECU : https://www.hemifevertuning.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=DSP-Trinity-2015

    i2010 and ECU : http://www.hemifevertuning.com/diablo_intune_dcx_p/dsp-i2010-dcx-2015.htm
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
    Moparboss99, DavidRam and popcenator like this.
  2. CMil527

    CMil527 Senior Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    504
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Location:
    Old Bridge, NJ
    Ram Year:
    2015 Ram Express 1500 CC 4x4 - Black Edition
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Thats not a bad deal at all... nice job!
     
  3. Northshoremb

    Northshoremb Banned

    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Still more then $400 for the intune by itself and same HP

    Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
     
    THETANK likes this.
  4. Hemi450hp

    Hemi450hp Moe's Performance

    Posts:
    9,365
    Likes Received:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    Conroe, TX
    Ram Year:
    2014 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    Whipple Supercharged 422" Hemi
    This is exciting news.

    I know a lot of 2015 guys that have been begging for this day to come.
     
    Moparboss99 likes this.
  5. hemifever

    hemifever Preferred Vendor

    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    102
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    5.7
    In one aspect it is going to suck to have to purchase a 2nd ECU that's unlocked but I've not seen any progress in unlocking the factory unit using a tuner (of any vendor) at this point. I guess one good thing is you don't have to worry about warranty issues crapping out your factory one while tuning, or having to worry about a dealer noticing anything has been altered on the factory pcm. You can swap back to the factory pcm in less time than you can re-do all the tuning.
     
  6. myoung84

    myoung84 Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Ram Year:
    2012 Power Wagon
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7L
    What about the difference in mileage between the instrument cluster and the pcm? Isn't mileage stored in both places?
     
  7. hemifever

    hemifever Preferred Vendor

    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    102
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    5.7
    The new ecu will be VIN flash, mileage flashed, and setup with your factory calibration. As for the factory ecu, its mileage will stop. however, the cluster doesn't receive its mileage from the ecu so that always stays accurate. I've never seen a dealer try to match mileage in the pcm to the cluster (to this date)
     
    Moparboss99 likes this.
  8. AlwaysSomethin

    AlwaysSomethin Senior Member

    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Ram Year:
    2015 Ram
    Engine:
    5.7L
    Wouldn't that make the fact PCMs have been swapped incredibly apparent if you swap back to stock and milage is stored both places?

    Edit: I think you added to the post as I quoted it LOL
    So you've never seen them compare the milage of the 2? I'd think that'd be the first think they did if you had an engine issue.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  9. Kjz3Ro

    Kjz3Ro Member

    Posts:
    60
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest city,Ok
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Well there went my tuning dreams.. So is there really no way that anyone may still crack the 2015 PCM?
     
    THETANK and Northshoremb like this.
  10. hemifever

    hemifever Preferred Vendor

    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    102
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    5.7
    its rare that I see dealers on a witch hunt looking for a tune. Most don't know how to gather the right info anyway. I always recommend finding a mod friendly dealer. any dealer that targets pcm changes is gonna do the same with cai's or exhaust too. Even the factory ecu will show how many resets it has. If you retune 15 times it'll show 15 resets. But dealers don't look for that either. I guess IMO, having the 2nd ecu is safest as going in with an ECU issue on the factory one once its tuned has the most chance of being flagged as a voided service claim.
     

Share This Page