2018 RAM Security Module Bypass

SaxCatz

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Posts
3
Reaction score
1
Location
Arizona
Ram Year
2018 RAM 1500 QC
Engine
Pentastar 3.6L V6
@SaxCatz
Not sure when you've been checking, but you must be barely missing them each time they're in stock. (Several went out last week).
Check the site later tonight/tomorrow. Should be more up by then.

Please keep in mind, Deereguy and I work regular jobs as well and usually get to everyone in a fairly timely manner... For most people the quality is worth it.
Also see... Deereguy Status Update.


Mike G.


M² Mods.
(via Tapatalk App)

Thanks! Checked again tonight and they were available so I placed my order. :) Sorry to come off as impatient, I was just frustrated with my current bypass and, as you noted, I must've just had bad timing as I checked several times over the last 6 months and they were out of stock each time so I assumed that they had been out of stock the entire time. Your assistance was much appreciated.
 

Noob2Trucks

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2021
Posts
31
Reaction score
20
Location
Arizona
Ram Year
2020
Engine
5.7L Hemi
I was able to order one on the second also!

My old ScanGauge doesn't work on the new truck, I'm curious to see if it's because of the security. Also want to try out some of the simpler alpha one stuff.
 

Jason Lubeck

Junior Member
Joined
May 24, 2021
Posts
2
Reaction score
1
Location
New Jersey
Ram Year
2018
Engine
5.7
Tried going on the kaodtech website for the security bypass harness but the option for a 2018 1500 was not highlighted. I'm assuming that means they are not in stock. Is there any other vendor for a bypass module for use with AlfaOBD?
 

BlownGP

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Posts
5,972
Reaction score
1,470
Location
Houston/Baton Rouge
Ram Year
2018 RAM Harvest New Holland Blue
Engine
5.7
Tried going on the kaodtech website for the security bypass harness but the option for a 2018 1500 was not highlighted. I'm assuming that means they are not in stock. Is there any other vendor for a bypass module for use with AlfaOBD?

After I bought mine from Kaodtech, I found one on amazon but I can't seem to find it now. Sorry

This is one from ebay but not sure where those two leads go
https://www.ebay.com/itm/313340359848?hash=item48f48a74a8:g:E~sAAOSw9IZf1xxk
 

Pluther71

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2021
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Ram Year
2017
Engine
6.4 L Hemi
Now taking orders for RAM Security Module Bypass Harnesses. If you have a 2018 RAM or a 2019 RAM Classic and would like to perform diagnostics or make changes to the modules of your truck using tools like AlfaOBD or AutoEngenuity, this bypass is for you. Cost of the bypass is $55.

In order to facility the ordering of the bypass, I have created a website for the orders. Please visit www.securitymodulebypass.com to order a bypass.


You must be registered for see images attach



FAQ

Does this allow access to all modules?

It has been tested connecting to the BCM and RFH. Since it bypasses the security module for both the CAN C and CAN IHS, almost all modules should be good. The one exception is the radio. The radio does not directly connect to the either CAN of the truck, it is hung off of a DMZ on the security module to protect the truck's CAN in case the radio would be comprised via the 4G cellular functionality.

Does this work with 1500, 2500, 3500, etc?
There are two different versions. One for the 1500s, and one for 2500s and up.

How long does it take to install and is the install permanent?
It take about 5 - 10 minutes to install. Installation instructions will be provided with your purchase. It can be removed in the same amount of time. The factory OBD2 port can be put back in place in less than 2 minutes without any tools.

What programs have been tested with the bypass?
At this point, AutoEngenuity, AlfaOBD, and Autel have been used with the bypass.

Should I leave the bypass installed at all times?
That is up to you. Installing the bypass does make the truck less secure by enabling the OBD2 port for use with diagnostic and configuration utilities not provided or authorized by FCA. That being said, the harness rewires the truck to be just like all previous model year RAMs. I would recommend that you remove the bypass before taking it to a dealer.

Can I use this on multiple trucks?
Yes. We have sold several of these already to dealers and third party shops who work on RAM trucks.
Do I need this in order to use an AlfaOBD on a 2017 Ram 2500?

Thanks.
 

18GSMRam

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Posts
86
Reaction score
59
Location
FL
Ram Year
2018
Engine
5.7
Can anyone confirm if the security bypass module works with HPTuners MPVI2?
 

DonRam240

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2021
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Washougal WA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Cummins 6.7L
Regarding when the bypass is needed, or not? Can AlfaOBD be used to coilect live data while driving, and then capture the associated freeze frame data, without the cable? As long as no data input or resetting or code clearing is done?
2018 Ram 3500 HD pickup, Cummins 6.7L, Aisin trans.
Thanks
DonRam240
 
Top