4.7 to 5.7 hemi swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

skibop84

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
New member here just looking for some help.

Ik that this has been posted before but im trying to get this on just one thread. i have a 2003 1500 with the 4.7 that i going to take out and put in a 5.7. The donor truck is complete but its a 2004. my question is what will i need from the donor truck outside of the motor,engine harness,rad,ac cooler,and tranny cooler. i plan on using the 4.7 tranny bc its in better shape then my hemi tranny. the 4.7 is 2wd and the 5.7 is 4wd. I'm just a backyard mechanic so just want to make sure I'm getting everything i need. Ive changed tons of motor in my time but they were just the same and mostly just plug and play.

Last edited:

justinr3459

Reaction score
Ram Year
04 dodge ram
Engine
hemi 5.7
im new to this site but im literally in the tail end of this swap as i have just did it myself.

Fast69Mopar

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 HEMI
New member here just looking for some help.

Ik that this has been posted before but im trying to get this on just one thread. i have a 2003 1500 with the 4.7 that i going to take out and put in a 5.7. The donor truck is complete but its a 2004. my question is what will i need from the donor truck outside of the motor,engine harness,rad,ac cooler,and tranny cooler. i plan on using the 4.7 tranny bc its in better shape then my hemi tranny. the 4.7 is 2wd and the 5.7 is 4wd. I'm just a backyard mechanic so just want to make sure I'm getting everything i need. Ive changed tons of motor in my time but they were just the same and mostly just plug and play.