5.9 V8 magnum upgrades

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AHaub

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 V8
Hey so I'm new to the group but I got a 01 ram 2500 with the 5.9 v8 I just order short tube headers, a tune up kit, and a few minor things for it including a cold air intake. Now I'm looking at cams and I ain't to sure on what I wanna do the truck has 239k on it... Was wondering what your guys opinion was on camming it (size) and what else would you do for some more power. Or would you go a different route I'm just effy cause it's a 239k motor but this is also my first dodge motor so I'm still learning but I'm a back yard mechanic and have worked on quite a bit from brakes to pulling motors so I got a pretty good idea on what I'm doing but this will be the first cam I've done so I'm just tryna make sure I'm not making the wrong call camming it.

Last edited:
Reactions: Mop

jessyj

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Save your money and leave it stock. These magnum engines are built for trucks only, good torque but low horsepower. Trying to get horsepower is very expensive$$$

OP
OP
A

AHaub

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 V8
Ok I was looking into these and yeah your right, I think I'm just gonna get a tuner to help with the new headers and cold air intake I got for it and do a tune up on her. When it comes to the headers though has anyone done them on a magnum? Jw if I should go get a extractor rn I know my ford header bolts was known to strip right out

Sandevino

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7 eTorque
From a maintenance perspective, check the coolant bypass hose under the alternator / belt tensioner assembly. I can’t tell you how long I troubleshot coolant issues until I replaced that hose. It looks fine from the front and sides, but gets hot and weakens over time.

Okiespaniel

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine