$50 REWARD for solution - 97 Laramie 5.9 - DYING

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Prideless

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L-360 Narutally Aspirated
With the understanding this truck could be taken to a dealer and "possibly" get resolved, I am on this site precisely to avoid just that, so please do not suggest it yet again. This has been a nightmare for more than a year. I will pay $50 CASH to the first person that comes up with THE correct solution to my issue, except anyone that suggests taking it to a dealer. Being a poor veteran, disabled, on a fixed income, though I have now paid enough for parts to have taken it to a dealer, I still cannot now afford to do that.

FYI - I was a Jet Engine Mechanic in the USAF, and I once worked as a mechanic in a Buick-Pontiac-GMC-Jeep dealership, but this has me stumped.

This is detailed and extensive, so thank you up front for your patience in even reading all this information. An extraordinary number of issues were found, but the ORIGINAL culprit has eluded all the troubleshooting. I am using an INNOVA 3040c scanner.

Initial problem - After driving about 13 miles, engine would cut off while coasting to a stop. Would not restart from 5 to 10 minutes. Would cut off a number of times, having to wait each time, until I got it back home. THREW NO CODES whatsoever. This happened on over a dozen trips.

Other than the precise issues discussed below, this engine runs perfectly smooth, accelerates smooth, and runs great. Many of the times it has cut off occurs very shortly after letting off the gas pedal. Can a throttle position sensor cause this crap?

4/28/20 - 169900 miles - REPLACED IGNITION COIL - no help, REPLACED GAS CAP - no help

5/2/20 - 169979 - REPLACED IGNITION SWITCH - no help

5/7/20 - 169985 - REPLACED CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR - no help