Adaptive windshield wiper?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Mikes578514

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Posts
31
Reaction score
5
Location
SE Iowa
Ram Year
2015
Engine
Hemi
I was at the glass repair shop today due to a stone chip in my 98 ram 1500. The estimator said my windshield had a rain sensor and a humidity sensor, I know that the automatic wipers do not work. I got home and went through the settings screens and couldn’t find how to turn them on.

in order to get the sensing wipers to work is it just a ECM update or what else might be needed or wrong? Or am I missing something in the settings

thanks

Mike
 

AxleFolly

Junior Member
Joined
May 6, 2024
Posts
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Seattle
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Have had my 2014 just a few days and was frustrated that the automatic wiper rain sense function wasn't working. But on our Ford that has it, I wish it was the timed intermittent wipe that our 2000 Toyota has. After reading that a OEM windshield can interfere with it, I learned that there is a menu option in the Gen 4 to turn off the automatic sensing function. I unchecked that box this afternoon and was happy that I now have intermittent wipers.
 

1999 White C5 Coupe

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Posts
268
Reaction score
315
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I was at the glass repair shop today due to a stone chip in my 98 ram 1500. The estimator said my windshield had a rain sensor and a humidity sensor, I know that the automatic wipers do not work. I got home and went through the settings screens and couldn’t find how to turn them on.

in order to get the sensing wipers to work is it just a ECM update or what else might be needed or wrong? Or am I missing something in the settings

thanks

Mike


Did you read your manual to determine how to turn the Rainsense wipers on and off?

Did you buy the truck used? It is possible it does not have the Rainsense feature, but the windshield was replaced with one that had the sensors. Are there wires plugged into the back of the sensors?
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
196,967
Posts
2,888,590
Members
158,636
Latest member
aley
Top