Advice on tarping and securing?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ckp_tn

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7
Next week, I am going to be driving with a brand new Weber Grill laying flat on its back in the bed of my 2018 RAM that has a soft Truxedo top. The Truxedo clearance is not enough to lay the Weber down and have it close.

I'm a newbie when it comes to securing items in the back of the truck. I feel pretty confident being able to lay some support underneath and even ratchet/secure the grill down from sliding too much, but what are the best options or methods for an affordable tarp that can cover most of the bed of the truck without leaking?

I have RAM boxes with the cargo management system. Thx!

Travelin Ram

Reaction score
Somewhere in NA. Probably. We travel a lot.
Ram Year
Engine
I wouldn’t tarp it. Rain if it happens won’t hurt a grill.

A tarp with the least amount of slack in it will flap in the wind and abuse any painted surface it rubs on.

If you feel you must, wrap up the grill like a Christmas present in the tarp then strap the whole package down in the bed. Don’t hang the tarp or any straps over the outside of the bed to scratch the paint.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
^^^ what he said
Just strap the grill to keep it from sliding around, the cardboard will keep the contents dry and as mentioned it's a grill a little moisture isn't going to hurt anything.

mtofell

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
I just looked at my Weber and it looks like just a few bolts to get the main part off the stand. Have you looked into just taking it apart? If not I agree with the others that a little rain won't hurt it. I just ratchet strap it in place to keep it from bouncing around.

tron67j

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine