AlfaOBD

Mister Luck

cassis tutissima virtus
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Posts
1,025
Reaction score
305
Location
WEST COAST
Ram Year
2016/2017
Engine
5.7 V8
Hi folks...quick question: for some reason I can't get my AlfaOBD (Android) to connect to my ELM327 or my new OBDLinkMX+. Both adapters will connect to OBDLink and TorquePro, but AlfaOBD can't find either bluetooth adapter. I have AlfaOBD configured for the OBDLinkMX+ interface currently, but when I hit the Bluetooth symbol in AlfaOBD, it doesn't see the OBDLinkMX+ in a scan. Same thing happens if I switch to my old ELM327 (which worked before). Any thoughts?

The last time I used AlfaOBD (I have the full version) was a few years ago to program my FOBIK keys. It worked fine then with my ELM327.
It might be a port id or loading issue with your operating system?
if you haven’t used it in a while doesn’t ALFAOBD auto update?
 

CanRebel

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2021
Posts
361
Reaction score
211
Location
Toronto
Ram Year
2021
Engine
Hemi
Hi folks...quick question: for some reason I can't get my AlfaOBD (Android) to connect to my ELM327 or my new OBDLinkMX+. Both adapters will connect to OBDLink and TorquePro, but AlfaOBD can't find either bluetooth adapter. I have AlfaOBD configured for the OBDLinkMX+ interface currently, but when I hit the Bluetooth symbol in AlfaOBD, it doesn't see the OBDLinkMX+ in a scan. Same thing happens if I switch to my old ELM327 (which worked before). Any thoughts?

The last time I used AlfaOBD (I have the full version) was a few years ago to program my FOBIK keys. It worked fine then with my ELM327.
are you using the windows os version? if so, it's not bluetooth. it's com port.
 

miketx

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2018
Posts
139
Reaction score
132
Location
75013
Ram Year
2016
Engine
5.7
It might be a port id or loading issue with your operating system?
if you haven’t used it in a while doesn’t ALFAOBD auto update?
It's Android.....never had a problem before. Guess I'll just uninstall it and reinstall it...see if that works. It worked fine a few years ago.....but it's definitely an AlfaOBD issue, since my other apps (OBDLink and TorquePro) work just fine with either adapter.

Edit: ok, reinstall didn't work. I now can see the OBDLink MX in a scan by AlfaOBD, but it still won't pair. And for some reason, AlfaOBD thinks it is paired to my Fitbit Sense watch.....but there is no "unpair" function. Any idea how to unpair with AlfaOBD? (edit...I just told my phone to "forget" the watch....that removed it from AlfaOBD). This is so bizarre.....AlfaOBD worked fine previously. Bluetooth on my phone works with everything else.
 
Last edited:

Mister Luck

cassis tutissima virtus
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Posts
1,025
Reaction score
305
Location
WEST COAST
Ram Year
2016/2017
Engine
5.7 V8
It's Android.....never had a problem before. Guess I'll just uninstall it and reinstall it...see if that works. It worked fine a few years ago.....but it's definitely an AlfaOBD issue, since my other apps (OBDLink and TorquePro) work just fine with either adapter.

Edit: ok, reinstall didn't work. I now can see the OBDLink MX in a scan by AlfaOBD, but it still won't pair. And for some reason, AlfaOBD thinks it is paired to my Fitbit Sense watch.....but there is no "unpair" function. Any idea how to unpair with AlfaOBD? This is so bizarre.....AlfaOBD worked fine previously. Bluetooth on my phone works with everything else.
Sometimes bluetooth won’t unpair from a device unless it’s removed or turned off.

the ELM327 has clones and lost support in June of this year 2022,

AlfaOBD is uploaded off the website but internet explorer has been retired is there any issues with microsoft edge in compatibility? how old is your Android?
 
Last edited:

Irongoats

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Military
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Posts
287
Reaction score
74
Location
Las Vegas
Ram Year
2015 Ram Sport
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Just got this mod this past few days and ran it first time today to set tire size. All in all pretty painless what's the popular adjustments people are doing?
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,753
Reaction score
3,801
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
Hi folks...quick question: for some reason I can't get my AlfaOBD (Android) to connect to my ELM327 or my new OBDLinkMX+. Both adapters will connect to OBDLink and TorquePro, but AlfaOBD can't find either bluetooth adapter. I have AlfaOBD configured for the OBDLinkMX+ interface currently, but when I hit the Bluetooth symbol in AlfaOBD, it doesn't see the OBDLinkMX+ in a scan. Same thing happens if I switch to my old ELM327 (which worked before). Any thoughts?

The last time I used AlfaOBD (I have the full version) was a few years ago to program my FOBIK keys. It worked fine then with my ELM327.
I just replaced my phone and here's what I had to do....

Under Android phone BT settings.. delete any previous device pairings for the adapter.

Then on the OBDLink MX BT adapter press the BT pairing button, then the BT 'Scan' button on phones BT settings menu.

Once it's paired with the phone, then you should be able to find it/connect in AlfaOBD
 

pacofortacos

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Posts
2,858
Reaction score
3,197
Ram Year
2016
Engine
5.7
are you using the windows os version? if so, it's not bluetooth. it's com port.
It's bluetooth on my windows version.

Just did the ABS bleed procedure yesterday.

Question on the ABS bleed procedure though, it only asked me to crack the RF (first), then RR bleeders. Then said complete.
I am assuming that during the procedure it tests for air and only bleeds the wheels needed???
 

miketx

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2018
Posts
139
Reaction score
132
Location
75013
Ram Year
2016
Engine
5.7
Sometimes bluetooth won’t unpair from a device unless it’s removed or turned off.

the ELM327 has clones and lost support in June of this year 2022,

AlfaOBD is uploaded off the website but internet explorer has been retired is there any issues with microsoft edge in compatibility? how old is your Android?
Pixel 3 running Android 12.
 

miketx

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2018
Posts
139
Reaction score
132
Location
75013
Ram Year
2016
Engine
5.7
I just replaced my phone and here's what I had to do....

Under Android phone BT settings.. delete any previous device pairings for the adapter.

Then on the OBDLink MX BT adapter press the BT pairing button, then the BT 'Scan' button on phones BT settings menu.

Once it's paired with the phone, then you should be able to find it/connect in AlfaOBD
Yeah, I've tried that. "Forget" the adapter in BT settings, then set the MX in pairing mode, then paired. And then yes, AlfaOBD sees it....I select it......and nothing. AlfaOBD just says "please wait for bluetooth pairing request and confirm pairing"......and that message stays stuck. No pairing request shows up. But a pairing request did show up when I paired the MX with the phone, so I know the pairing message does work. Very strange. I can then go back to OBDLink or TorquePro and both of those work immediately.

Edit: I'm emailing with Alexy (AlfaOBD)....he's baffled also. We'll see.
 
Last edited:
Top