AlfaOBD

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

teddy Charlery

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Posts
8
Reaction score
4
Location
Baytowb TX
Ram Year
2012
Engine
4.7
Sounds like it could be an issue with the remote start. I haven't programmed any fobs for my 2017,but I have a plug and play remote start with 4g LTE for phone app connection and had to send it back to the company I bought it from after I did initial programming so they could finalize programming. You only program with whichever key you are using, however all my keys work even though they weren't used in programming as all have the same key code. Would the problem persist if you didn't use the remote start? If so, it's most definitely not the issue. If it doesn't, then the issue is the remote start somehow. Maybe older models have different programming. Mine are the fobs that go into the ignition, no actual key unless I need to unlock the door when battery dies.
So I was able to fix my issue with the Truck cutting off after 3 secs. Don't ever believe what a locksmith would say... Nevertheless I replace my WIN module and program the same keys to the win. I use AlfaOBD to do the programming. All the Locksmith I spoke to wanted well above $800 including new keys. I took a big leap bought the win for $290 on Amazon and it work great.


I followed the steps in the link below.

 
Last edited:

teddy Charlery

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Posts
8
Reaction score
4
Location
Baytowb TX
Ram Year
2012
Engine
4.7
Good Day,
I have the same issue. Did you get a fix? if so, How did you?
Thanks ahead.
I was able to fix my issue with the Truck cutting off after 3 secs. Don't ever believe what a locksmith would say... Nevertheless I replace my WIN module and program the same keys to the win. I use AlfaOBD to do the programming. All the Locksmith I spoke to wanted well above $800 including new keys. I took a big leap bought the win for $290 on Amazon and it work great.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09BTFJ9CV?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

I followed the steps in the link below.

platforum.cloud%2Flogos%2Fcumminsforum_com_profile.png

ALFAOBD - WIN Module Replacement and Key Programming


ages.platforum.cloud%2Ficons%2Fcumminsforum_comx32.png www.cumminsforum.com
 
Last edited:

likes2build

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Posts
1,229
Reaction score
1,155
Location
Mohawk Valley, NY
Ram Year
2018 Express RCSB
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
Does anyone know how or where to access the actual idle / drive hours somewhere other then the EVIC?
 

PA Ram

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Jan 1, 2023
Posts
174
Reaction score
166
Location
Quakertown, PA
Ram Year
2017
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Does anyone know how or where to access the actual idle / drive hours somewhere other then the EVIC?
I'd be curious to know this as well. It has to be stored somewhere,because dealers can pull the info somehow. I replaced my evic with a 7 inch display, and my old evic reset sometime right before I swapped. I knew the exact mileage to program that into the new one and the new one had similar mileage so I left idle hours alone.
 

cityredneck

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Posts
219
Reaction score
243
Location
arlington, tx
Ram Year
2017
Engine
5.7
it's been a couple of years since i used my alfapbd. i tried to log into my truck to change one of the aux setting to momentary, but for the life of me i cant seem to get to/find that setting/section. anyone know what i need to log into?

any help would be greatly appreciated
 

18CrewDually

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Posts
2,110
Reaction score
2,721
Location
U.S.- New Jersey
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Cummins 6.7 H.O.
it's been a couple of years since i used my alfapbd. i tried to log into my truck to change one of the aux setting to momentary, but for the life of me i cant seem to get to/find that setting/section. anyone know what i need to log into?

any help would be greatly appreciated

Under the Body Computer, select Car Configuration Change, then select as shown below.

Screenshot_20240505_204858_AlfaOBD.jpg
 

cityredneck

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Posts
219
Reaction score
243
Location
arlington, tx
Ram Year
2017
Engine
5.7
thank you! i really wish i could get the aux features to show up in my cluster or radio, but ill take what i can get with it in the 1500. have a klienn on board air and horn setup using the aux switches. it works great!
 

UnkoBro

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2021
Posts
85
Reaction score
65
Location
Honolulu, Hawaii
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Question: does the Headlamps Dropout function disable the low beams when the high beams are on?
 

EriikK

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2022
Posts
67
Reaction score
95
Location
Ann Arbor MI USA
Ram Year
2015
Engine
6.4 Hemi
I could not find MDS on/off in the list of variables I could monitor real time in AlfaOBD. Has anybody found it? 2015 2500 6.4.
 

04fxdwgi

Senior Member
Military
Joined
May 19, 2023
Posts
572
Reaction score
788
Location
Coastal NE North Carolina
Ram Year
2016 1500 Sport
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I could not find MDS on/off in the list of variables I could monitor real time in AlfaOBD. Has anybody found it? 2015 2500 6.4.
That option is not available. Would need to go to an unlocked ECM with a tune in it to get "MDS ON/OFF" to work that simply.
 

Diesel Nut

Junior Member
Joined
May 23, 2024
Posts
3
Reaction score
1
Location
California
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.7
Hello all.
I just installed the Titan 55gal tank in my 18 dually. I saw on another site where someone with an 18 indicated (post is 3 years old) it worked on their truck, but I see on here about 30 pages back where someone said it won't work. I have both VehConfig 3 and ECUConfig 4 set to 194L. Original settings were 121L for VehConfig 3 and 00000 for ECUConfig 4. When changing VehConfig from 121L to 194L my full level drops to 3/4. ECUConfig doesn't appear to have done anything but I have not driven the truck yet. Hoping maybe it will just take some key cycles or some cycles of the tank to read correctly, but anyone have insight?
The fuel level change throws me for a loop because if the level float is in the full position, it shouldn't matter how big the tank is, the tank is full........
 

nickwille99

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2023
Posts
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Oklahoma
Ram Year
2022
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hello. I have been fighting a losing battle trying to write my trucks vin into the BCM with alfaobd. I have a 2013 Ram 1500. I am trying to write the vin on a BCM for a 2016 so I can get the newer year features available on my truck. I think the mismatched vin is causing my truck to not start (push button). Has anyone done this and have any suggestions? Any help would be much appreciated.
 

Kul1g

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2024
Posts
40
Reaction score
8
Location
White haven
Ram Year
2015
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey guys. I’m having issues adding a oem factory tailgate back view cam to oem radio (GTRUI) all connection to that radio are ok in my opinion but got this error after checking engine on alphaobd

B16b7 is because of rain I think, but is not showing up on my dashboard dunno why, because when lat time I was washing my car had b16b7, probably that third brake washer?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20240528-185848.png
    Screenshot_20240528-185848.png
    180.3 KB · Views: 5

sssqueue

Junior Member
Joined
May 22, 2024
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Ram Year
2019 Classic
Engine
5.7
Hello All. I have a 2019 RAM 1500 Classic with the non-nav 8.4. I updated to QR40.1 with help of members here. Can the vehicle's date and time be updated with AlphaOBD? The non-nav only allows for an update to the time but even then, when I get email alerts from sirius guardian the time and date are both wrong, by a lot. I received one today with a date somewhere in 2025. Calls to support have been a waste of time with transfer after transfer. Any help would be appreciated as I have tried just about everything including pulling the radio fuse for 20 minutes to reset. Thanks.
 

mikey2k

Junior Member
Joined
May 3, 2024
Posts
9
Reaction score
2
Location
33065
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.0L diesel
Ok, alphaobd changes lights and door locks and stuff, does it tune? can i delete the DEF system? I have the "will not restart" after the 250 mile countdown. i hooked up a plunger switch to the starter relay and have driven it over 1500 miles with no codes and it will not go away. What can i do??????? HELP!!!!!!
This is way more than i bargained for when i bought this truck (2014 bigfoot eco) 3 months ago. If i could i'd get rid of it. Will never get my money back.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20240602_184852.jpg
    IMG_20240602_184852.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:

mikey2k

Junior Member
Joined
May 3, 2024
Posts
9
Reaction score
2
Location
33065
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.0L diesel
BTW, too many acronyms that someone who is just starting this journey, have not a clue what they mean.
like:
MDS, VES ect
I don't feel like reading 734 pages of posts just to figure it out.
 
Top