Help Support Ram Forum by donating:

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto dimming rear view mirror

Discussion in 'Interior' started by Ram 1970, Jun 19, 2020.

1. Ram 1970

Ram 1970 Member

Ram Year:
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Just how dark are these mirrors supposed to get? I'm new to the 'auto dim' feature...never had it before until this truck. To me, there is no difference between switching it on or off in the settings. And lights are a little too glaring at night when looking at it.

What exactly runs the mirror? Sensors on the back of it or something else? I'm doubting the dealership will fix it free of charge...

2. crash68

crash68 Senior Member

Ram Year:
    Engine:
    3.0 EcoDiesel
    Shine a bright flashlight at the rearview mirror (the part you look at). The outside mirror(s) will turn almost a bluish color. If you have your rear windows tinted darker than factory or a cap on the back, the auto-dimming doesn't work as well.
    If your having issues with car headlights behind you, possibly don't have your mirrors adjusted correctly. Set your mirrors where you can just barely see the side of the truck/rear wheel well on the inside edge of the mirror with your head all the way back against the headrest.

3. pacofortacos

pacofortacos Senior Member

Ram Year:
    Engine:
    It is a decent difference between when it is active and when it isn't but on most trucks it is just the drivers side and rearview mirrors. My passenger side doesn't dim.

You should be able to see a difference but only at night.

4. smoke8r

smoke8r Junior Member

Ram Year:
    2020 1500 sport crew cab blackout package
    Engine:
    5.7 hemi