Bad software choices - can some things be modded?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BlackTruckGuy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi,

I'm a professional software engineer for embedded systems so I may be a bit overly critical because I know how it "should have been done" while most people just use the software obliviously.
There are several things that are just annoying with the software's operation such as:

=============
fan control
=============

You twist the fan speed control to 7 (Don't they know 10 is the number! *** 7!) and 5 seconds later it gets there.
Then you twist it to 1 and 5 seconds later it gets there.

I can't tell you how dumb this is. It totally removes the ability to grab the *** and adjust it while looking out the window. It isn't saving the fan motor because if you wanted to do that the ramp up time is much less. It is just a dumb arbitrary value that makes your truck look like it has a laggy slow axe processor (Which I'm pretty sure it does...or its even worse software than I thought.)

The operation should be that with 0.5 seconds it goes from full off to full on smoothly (thus eliminating fan wear). It should go from full to off in 0.5 seconds as well.

=============
Stupid warning about uconnect
=============

If you want to display it once fine then it should go away. If you insist on it being there then as soon as the truck starts being operated it should go away. As it is now if you get into an accident claim you were reading the uconnect message and were distracted by RAM. They can pay the bill!

=============
Software occasionally flips on your flashers while using apple mapping features
=============