Cargo camera install

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

littlebiscuit

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2022
Posts
70
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.4l Hemi
Thought post up here little quick install on this after market cargo cam from crutchfield. This is for 2018 ram tradesman. I purchased the RCA from Mike at M2Mods. Pretty much plug and play. You do have to find 12 volt power if you want to be able to turn camera on if your not in reverse. No instruction came from aftermarket camera but was worth the money. All I had to do was grab 12 volts of the cigarette lighter port to power camera and plug RCA into back of radio connector pins 24 and 25 unless you all ready have wires in connector. I just finished the 8.4 upgrade and my connector wasn't wired. I replaced a 3.0 RA1 for the 8.4 w NAV. Using alpha obd 2 pics of what I did to activate on radio screen. Link to camera: https://www.crutchfield.com/p_249CDR03C/Crux-CDR-03C.html?omnews=14856427.
 

Attachments

  • 20230325_142451.jpg
    20230325_142451.jpg
    127.6 KB · Views: 108
  • 20230325_142411.jpg
    20230325_142411.jpg
    105.1 KB · Views: 105
  • 20230325_142406.jpg
    20230325_142406.jpg
    107.4 KB · Views: 110
  • 20230325_142356.jpg
    20230325_142356.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 117
  • Screenshot_20230326-021756_AlfaOBD.jpg
    Screenshot_20230326-021756_AlfaOBD.jpg
    91.6 KB · Views: 113
  • Screenshot_20230326-021809_AlfaOBD.jpg
    Screenshot_20230326-021809_AlfaOBD.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 107
Last edited:

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
6,129
Reaction score
4,238
Location
SC
Ram Year
2022 Ram 1500 (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L
Great install I'm interested to see how that one holds up for the weather down there in Florida keep us updated

For anyone else stopping by here....

If you have a 2013-15 8.4 radio, with BuCam displayed on it, you likely can't add the second cargo Cam input due to SW version limitation of the radio. (It's one or the other only). There was a brief version released, 17.11.x, that allowed it before Stellantis removed it in later SW updates.

2016+
radios don't have this limitation.


Edit: enable the Cargo Cam input/menu button and see if you retain both?

The Alfaobd settings are below

VehConfig 1 - CHMSL Camera
"Yes"

CBC Features - LED CHMSL Lamp Present
"Yes"



Mike G.
M2 Mods (on Ramforum)
www.M2Mods4Ram.com
 
Last edited:

jdeere5105

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2023
Posts
9
Reaction score
4
Location
SC
Ram Year
2014
Engine
6.7 Cummins
What software version is your radio/nav? Also what is the website for the rca. I googled m2mods but got a lot of BMW stuff lol.
 
OP
OP
littlebiscuit

littlebiscuit

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2022
Posts
70
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.4l Hemi
I have to look up version and will get you Mike email for M2Mods. I no the radio is out of a 2017 with nav. M2Mods gave me help with my upgrade.
 

jdeere5105

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2023
Posts
9
Reaction score
4
Location
SC
Ram Year
2014
Engine
6.7 Cummins
I’ll check my version when I get off work. I would really like to add a cargo cam.
 

Justthebutler

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Posts
128
Reaction score
135
Location
BC
Ram Year
2017 Ram 1500 SLT
Engine
5.7L Hemi
That's a cool addition, I've never seen those before. I like how it gives you a full view of what's going on, rather than just what's right behind your bumper.

I'm also planning on adding a cargo cam this week, but I'm going to try retrofitting an after market button cam into the third brake light.
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
6,129
Reaction score
4,238
Location
SC
Ram Year
2022 Ram 1500 (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L
Keep you posted
Before your OP (post1) or post 3 gets locked from future edits... Can you post up the AlfaOBD BCM changes you made to enable the Cargo Cam input for others?

& Maybe Add a link to the camera you bought if you can...
 
Last edited:

riverchick

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2023
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Gilbert, AZ
Ram Year
2019
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am looking to add a cam to the back of a truck camper to integrate into the 12" Uconnect screen - would this set up work?
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
6,129
Reaction score
4,238
Location
SC
Ram Year
2022 Ram 1500 (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L
I am looking to add a cam to the back of a truck camper to integrate into the 12" Uconnect screen - would this set up work?
I'm not terribly familiar with the 5th gen 12" radio vs earlier 4th gen.... @Jimmy07 may be able to confirm
 

haleme

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2021
Posts
147
Reaction score
180
Location
VA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.4
I just wrapped up my cargo camera install using the harness and guidance from Grimm. Put the smallest diameter camera I could find directly into the CHMSL and then cabled to the radio. Also replaced all three lights with LEDs to keep the heat in the stop light area down. Easy as that.

Side note.
I don't normally like to rag on companies that are trying to support our community, but I did originally purchase the cargo camera kit from Tailgatecamera.com. They took a $45 Dorman replacement CHMSL, replaced the stop light with a very weak LED, drilled a hole and glued in a $15 camera, then called it a day. Upon delivery, I was completely disappointed with the quality of the work and immediately returned the cargo camera for a full refund. The original Brand Motion cargo cameras were custom molded to hold the camera and only cost $150 two years ago. Unfortunately, Brand Motion has discontinued this cargo camera. If the tailgatecamera.com kit was $100 to $125 tops, I would have been inclined to keep it and use it, but they charged me $300. Complete rip off. Be careful with them.

IMG_20240424_215020352.jpg
I think I might be a degree or two off, but I will recheck in the morning.
IMG_20240424_215057256.jpg
 

GTyankee

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Military
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Posts
10,525
Reaction score
13,724
Location
El Cajon Calif. 92021
Ram Year
2016
Engine
3.0 ecodiesel

SitKneelBend

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
9,333
Reaction score
5,117
Location
St. Louis
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
I just wrapped up my cargo camera install using the harness and guidance from Grimm. Put the smallest diameter camera I could find directly into the CHMSL and then cabled to the radio. Also replaced all three lights with LEDs to keep the heat in the stop light area down. Easy as that.

Side note.
I don't normally like to rag on companies that are trying to support our community, but I did originally purchase the cargo camera kit from Tailgatecamera.com. They took a $45 Dorman replacement CHMSL, replaced the stop light with a very weak LED, drilled a hole and glued in a $15 camera, then called it a day. Upon delivery, I was completely disappointed with the quality of the work and immediately returned the cargo camera for a full refund. The original Brand Motion cargo cameras were custom molded to hold the camera and only cost $150 two years ago. Unfortunately, Brand Motion has discontinued this cargo camera. If the tailgatecamera.com kit was $100 to $125 tops, I would have been inclined to keep it and use it, but they charged me $300. Complete rip off. Be careful with them.

View attachment 541804
I think I might be a degree or two off, but I will recheck in the morning.
View attachment 541805
Mine from Customtronix is pretty much identical to this setup and has been running strong for almost 10 years. I can't see it in your pictures, but if it's not sealed with silicone or something similar on the back side then just put a rubber o-ring on the camera between it and the light (on the outside).
 

haleme

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2021
Posts
147
Reaction score
180
Location
VA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.4
Not sealed yet. I need to adjust the camera in the daytime before I set it with silicone.
 

SitKneelBend

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
9,333
Reaction score
5,117
Location
St. Louis
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
Not sealed yet. I need to adjust the camera in the daytime before I set it with silicone.
My opinion, just use an o-ring. That way if it needs adjustment it's easy to remove. With time, the camera will lose focus but you can pop it out and thread it back into focus then re-tighten the set screw. I thought mine was siliconed because it never leaked but when I went to refocus realized it was an o-ring doing all the work.
 
Last edited:
Top