CB radio information

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Buttyman

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I am wanting to get a CB radio for my 2018 PW. I've never owned one. I need to know if it will be easy to wire into my truck and what type of radio should I get. I'm technically challenged, so don't need bluetooth and all that stuff. Just a basic radio I can listen to and use in case of emergencies. Oh, and where to best mount the antenna. I have a bed cover.

McBroom

U.S.Marine Veteran Retired 88-2000
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4L
Well good morning.
The best place to mount the radio is in the useless cubby hole under the dash. If you're gonna hard wire it in... I recommend going directly to the battery.
Having a bedcover I'm gonna say use a magnet mount on the roof.
I'm n the same boat same truck.
I'm a retired truck driver and having a cb in my truck is just about as important to me as having seatbelts. Lol.
As far as a brand...
That really depends on how your gonna use it really. There's so many different kinds of radios out there.
If...
Traffic/weather only: Cobra 19 or 25 with (WX)
Side band: long distance conversation Galaxy 66,99 Connex,
and many other high power companies.
No matter what radio you decide to go with make sure to get it peaked and tuned at a good cb shop. Even if you have to ship it to them or buy one from them already tuned.
Antenna choice is another major component. Again depending on your needs/wants.

I'll monitor this thread to help you out as best as I can.

I have a cb setup that I've talked on for years and a large collection of radios too.
My favorite radio is a Galaxy 99 ssb. I've talked over 1300 miles between myself and the other person with it. It has the capability with its channels and settings I could even talk from Dallas Texas to Canada.

I Hope's this helps somewhat.