Cold misfire with a few codes ( P0300, P0456, P0175 )

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ben79

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
2013 Ram 1500 4.7 155k miles. Bought the truck about a year ago and I've put about 6k miles on it. No issues until a couple of days ago. CEL came on but working some long hours so hadn't checked it. Yesterday morning started the truck to let it thaw out a bit ( 26 degrees or so out there ) and when I went back it had a hard miss and flashing CEL. Turned off, back on and drove to work fine. Same thing the next morning. If I start the truck cold it will start missing within the first 5-30 seconds and won't recover unless I turn the truck off and back on. The odd thing is that regardless of engine/outside temp if I start the truck and start driving right away, no miss, no issue. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination but I'm not useless with a socket set and some determination. I was hoping the combination of codes would help point me in a more specific direction to start looking. P0300, P0456, P0175.

Thanks -

Jose Zambrano

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Have you checked for any vacuum leaks or anything like that, I have the same issue but mine does not throw any codes. Mine will stutter a bit at cold start then it will level its self out after about 10 seconds. My tuner said it could be a vacuum leak or a bad gap on one of the spark plugs. I checked for vacuum leaks and none were found so my next thing is to check all the sparkplugs. With the mileage on yours the spark plugs should have been changed already.

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi