Crazy gages

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Mike ellis

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 cummins
07 3500 cummins 5.9 . Just 81000 miles on it. Battery & fuel gage went crazy. Were do i look first ? I am a 35 year heavy mechanic and hate electric trouble. Any help will be some kinda great.

MADDOG

Not RamForum Staff
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Sounds like an electrical issue. Start with the easy stuff:

1. Load test your battery.
2. Check your grounds.
3. Inspect battery cable connections at all 4 ends.
4. Check battery cables for corrosion at the connections and under the sheathing next to the connections.

OP
OP
M

Mike ellis

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 cummins
When it first happen a week ago. I put in 2 new batteries and cut and made all new leads. And clean all small contacts. And pulled all fuses and clean the contacts. Some one said the dash circuit board ? But they still move with key on key off. They just peging out. I take all ideas. Thanks in advance

CharlesinGA

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L Cummins 305 hp HO
I'm not sure but I think there is a small cable that is molded as part of the positive clamp on the LH battery, that goes to a connection on the IB side of the fuse panel. This supplies the fuse panel. You say you replaced the cables, could you have cut and spliced this one, or missed it, or poorly connected? Dunno, but you need to back up thru what you did and verify everything you touched. Are you saying it happened and THEN you replaced the cables?

Charles

Dennis Shellito

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins IBS
A gauge that pegs itself is caused because it has lost ground, and a gauge that won't come off zero is caused by loss of power to said gauge. I am unsure how the gauges are grounded, but you may be able to run a grounding wire to them.

OP
OP
M

Mike ellis