Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dash cam hardware install fuses?

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Addicted2fishing, Jul 1, 2020.

  1. Addicted2fishing

    Addicted2fishing Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    2,349
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Location:
    Durham region
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    HEMI 5.7
    Hey folks!

    Finally got a dash cam (thinkware f200) however, some of the features like parking mode and motion don’t work unless it’s hardwired.

    I picked up a kit yesterday and was hoping you guys can help me

    I need a constant fuse to use with my tap and a switch to use. I’ll prob use cig lighter for switched but what’s a safe fuse to tap into for constant that wing interfere with any safety features etc?

    Thanks


    60% of the time it works every time....
     
  2. canadiankodiak700

    canadiankodiak700 Senior Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    372
    Likes Received:
    287
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2019
    Engine:
    3.7L Pentastar
    Tap the other 12v port, one is switched, one is constant

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
     
  3. WY.Ram

    WY.Ram Senior Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    248
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Location:
    Larkspur, CO
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    I don't have a good recommendation for existing but maybe consider the option of an entirely new circuit, fuse an all, for your dash cam. Somewhat of a pita but often can be no more hassle then tapping an existing circuit and there are benefits, especially if having to troubleshoot either truck or camera circuits, separate can be a lot easier.

    Sorry I don't have an existing circuit as an option, somebody will offer up an solid location.

    The electrical is one system on my truck I have yet to jump in the middle of, aside from plug and play connectors, I feel the aux switch / fuse mod lurking in the shadows tho.

    '16 Wagon Greene tune feed'n & fire'n 6.4L with 6spd 5.13 AAM, 37" KM3, -12mm Fuels Thuren Overland, DOR, Purple Cranium CAI, ARH, Solo Mach44 z36, EBC Custom vinyl AVS, 4% tint Morimoto, Rigid, Diode Dynamics AlfaOBD, Diablo, Nanny Kill, Locker bypass .................
     
  4. Addicted2fishing

    Addicted2fishing Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    2,349
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Location:
    Durham region
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    HEMI 5.7
    Thank you good sir! So the other 12v (USB) on dash is a constant ? I just have to find the location now... hopefully it’s marked on the box

    And to confirm we don’t have a fuse panel inside the cab right? Under the steering wheel?

    60% of the time it works every time....
     
  5. Addicted2fishing

    Addicted2fishing Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    2,349
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Location:
    Durham region
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    HEMI 5.7
    Ok. I suck at electrical and this case is no different.

    Installed with fuse tap and without (wrapping wire around fuse prong)

    Neither worked . Ignition I used cig lighter and constant the horn. I couldn’t find the fuse for the in dash USB constant.

    What am I doing wrong?

    I had to extend the wires as the kit was too short and used but connectors. Could that be the reason ?


    60% of the time it works every time....
     
  6. cityredneck

    cityredneck Member Supporting Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    82
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Location:
    arlington, tx
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    5.7
    @Addicted2fishing when i bought my truck i took it to a car stereo shop and they wired it up for me. i had to wire it up to a keyed source. was less than $75
     
  7. WY.Ram

    WY.Ram Senior Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    248
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Location:
    Larkspur, CO
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    how's your ground? Any paint or other non conductive material at your ground?
     
  8. Addicted2fishing

    Addicted2fishing Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    2,349
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Location:
    Durham region
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    HEMI 5.7
    There is a bolt under the dash I used. Appears to be on the body. There may be paint. I’ll have to check. That may be the culprit . I did everything right except maybe that? It’s almost 97f during the afternoon and I was sweating my bag off and getting it in my eyes lol. I’ll try in the morning tomorrow when it’s not so warm and humid


    60% of the time it works every time....
     
  9. AE5548

    AE5548 Senior Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Location:
    NH
    Ram Year:
    2018
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Get a Mirror Tap. Simple to do. No wires to cut or mess with. No running wires from under the dash. I had one made with a Mini USB for my Dash cam and an RJ11 for my Radar Detector. Worth every penny. https://www.mirrortap.com/index.html
     
    WY.Ram likes this.
  10. Addicted2fishing

    Addicted2fishing Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    2,349
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Location:
    Durham region
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    HEMI 5.7
    Thanks! I’ll look into this.

    Today despite the heat I was out there trying again..... Found the fuse locations. Tested the power on the positive side of the fuse tap and it had power. Wires leading to the unit had power. However, the unit had no power . Makes no sense.


    60% of the time it works every time....
     

Share This Page