Dash lights and backlight for instrument LED screen wont go out

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sfuflash23

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hi all,

Newbie here. Started running into an intermittent problem about 2 weeks ago. on my 2013 Longhorn. I had the truck sitting in the garage all weekend and noticed one day when I was taking my dogs out that the instrument cluster lights, the push button ignition "off light", and backlight for the instrument cluster LED screen were still on. Couldn't figure it out and pulled the battery. Once I reconnected the battery all was well for a few days. It happened again on Monday and actually drained the battery. I took it to the shop, however, once I pulled into the shop and turned off the truck, the lights acted like normal and shut off a few seconds after I turned off the truck. The techs have not heard of any issues like this and were not able to get the problem to replicate. Last night the issue arose again. I drove to work with the intent of going to the shop during lunch but once I got to work the and lights worked normally so I didn't go to the shop. Yet again, I am now home and the lights will not go out. I am having to pull the #49 10 amp fuse in order to not drain the battery, but that only extinguishes the instrument cluster, not the ignition "off" light on the pushbutton start. I do not want to pull the battery because that for sure resets whatever is wrong and I want to try and maintain whatever the issue is so that the shop can actually witness it (thats if I can get the problem to stay until I get to the shop). It seems like an intermittent problem. I am not sure if a wire is lose somewhere to the intelligent battery sensor or not, but this is getting annoying. And before the obvious is stated, no I do not have my dimmer turned all the way up so as that my lights are s