Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIY - add Auxiliary switches to a 2016 RAM 2500 Tradesman

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by abbttb, Jan 9, 2017.

  1. tnctx02

    tnctx02 Senior Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    283
    Likes Received:
    147
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Ram Year:
    2017 RAM SLT
    Engine:
    3.6L Pentastar V6
    The OBDLink MX works fine to use with AlphaOBd? Don't need the MX+?
     
  2. abbttb

    abbttb Member

    Posts:
    81
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    The OBDLINK MX version worked great. I did not need the MX+[​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
  3. tnctx02

    tnctx02 Senior Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    283
    Likes Received:
    147
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Ram Year:
    2017 RAM SLT
    Engine:
    3.6L Pentastar V6
    Thanks so much for the info!
     
  4. Special K

    Special K Junior Member

    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    HEMI 6.4
    So I’m newish to the forum and want to do this upgrade. I can work my way through most electrical projects but wanted to see what gauge wire you recommend using going from the connector to the relays? Thanks in advance.
     
  5. abbttb

    abbttb Member

    Posts:
    81
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    I used 14 gauge wire from the aux switch to the relay and 12 gauge wire from the battery + & ground, battery + runs through my auxiliary fuse box to the relay. I'm sure it's a little overkill.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
  6. Special K

    Special K Junior Member

    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    HEMI 6.4
    Great thanks for following up
     
  7. Canadian Mopar

    Canadian Mopar Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    90
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Location:
    Alberta
    Ram Year:
    2017 2500 SLT
    Engine:
    6.4L HEMI
    Finally finished installing these in my '17 2500 last night. Only problem I am having is the Aux switch CSM doesn't show up in my radio (it shows up in my 7" cluster under the commercial settings though) and when I go through the commercial settings menu and check the "last state" of a switch it pops up with an error, says something about checking the owners manual.
    It is also possible to get everything from a OEM setup and wire it like OEM (you could add a PTO this way as well), I'll take some pictures and get a list of all the terminals and connectors I used if someone is interested in doing the same.
     
  8. Special K

    Special K Junior Member

    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    HEMI 6.4
    I’m in
    I’m interested if you have a write up on it
     
  9. Canadian Mopar

    Canadian Mopar Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    90
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Location:
    Alberta
    Ram Year:
    2017 2500 SLT
    Engine:
    6.4L HEMI
    Sorry, been meaning to do this. Hopefully I'll be able to get some pics / parts list this week.
     
  10. Special K

    Special K Junior Member

    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    HEMI 6.4
    Just to clarify, you are saying that if I found a parts truck with the Aux switches installed I could wire it up myself?
     

Share This Page