Engine hours display reset itself?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

PoMansRam

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Posts
2,089
Reaction score
2,550
Location
East Aurora NY
Ram Year
2019
Engine
Hemi
Sorry if this has been covered before. I saw some threads but no real resolution.

This is on my 2017 Ram 1500, pentastar, QC 4x4 express model. Just over 40K miles on the ODO. I just noticed yesterday when toggling though the dash display that my engine hours were reading 16 drive time and 165 idle hours! It's been awhile since I checked it, but last time I looked I believe I was approaching 2000 drive time hours and about 200 idle.

Truck is all factory yet. Haven't had any issues. I'm sure the PCM stores the real numbers, so maybe the dash reading zeros out somewhere around 2000hrs drive time hours?

Why the idle hours didn't zero out like the drive time is really weird. At a loss with this one.
 
Last edited:

tap4154

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Posts
1,008
Reaction score
986
Location
California
Ram Year
2018
Engine
3.6 V6
From a quick search. looks like this just happens sometimes. I saw your post on Bob the Oil Guy too. Like you said, probably just the instrument module not reading right, not the PCM. If under warranty still, take it in and see if they can replace it?
 

Hootbro

U.S. Army Veteran
Military
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Posts
2,745
Reaction score
1,971
Location
Delaware
Ram Year
2017 1500 Express 4x4
Engine
Pentastar 3.6L
Add me to the list. My drive hours reset to zero also. Previously had about 1300 and change for drive hours. Nothing happen to indicate why it did it. Just went over 3 years on the 3/36 warranty and nothing I am willing to pay for to troubleshoot so I will just live with it.

20200715_150314.jpg
 

bchap05

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Posts
824
Reaction score
541
Ram Year
2017
Engine
5.7
I took mine to dealer for it. They were basically like I don't know and didn't fix it.


If you look up engine hours on Alfa obd they show accurate. So the display just isn't showing correctly
 
OP
OP
PoMansRam

PoMansRam

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Posts
2,089
Reaction score
2,550
Location
East Aurora NY
Ram Year
2019
Engine
Hemi
I took mine to dealer for it. They were basically like I don't know and didn't fix it.


If you look up engine hours on Alfa obd they show accurate. So the display just isn't showing correctly

I kinda figured this would be the standard Ram dealer response..

Good info on the Alfa thing!

I'll be bracing for my new to me 2019 classic's meter to reset itself. I think I'm at like ~30 idle hours and ~350 run time hours at 15800 miles.
 

RodeoRam

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Posts
470
Reaction score
607
Location
North Carolina
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Hemi 5.7 2500 CC
Good to know. Mine reset a few weeks ago so I wondered how that would impact setting the hours in my 7" EVIC that I have yet to put in. Hopefully, I can pull the right numbers out of Alfa beforehand.
 

tjfdesmo

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Posts
2,313
Reaction score
4,208
Location
AZ
Been reading about this for a while. Seems very random, no rhyme or reason.
 
OP
OP
PoMansRam

PoMansRam

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Posts
2,089
Reaction score
2,550
Location
East Aurora NY
Ram Year
2019
Engine
Hemi
Bringing back my oldie thread here because this is now my 2nd Ram 1500 and the 2nd time my run time hours have randomly reset. I just toggled through the displays today after doing an oil change and resetting the oil life monitor, only to notice I rolled back in time. This is on my 2019 Ram 1500 classic, hemi, CC, 4x4, SLT. I believe I was at something like 1500hrs at the mileage I'm at.
pYfa4BFl.jpg
 

RodeoRam

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Posts
470
Reaction score
607
Location
North Carolina
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Hemi 5.7 2500 CC
That's a lot of miles for an hour of driving. You could dominate every NHRA class.
 

Dodge trucker

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2021
Posts
312
Reaction score
188
Location
Kankakee il
Ram Year
1985
Engine
225
I have a 12 that doesn't differentiate between drive and idle time, it's currently around 3100 total hours. Miles is 95k.
 

thomure77

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2022
Posts
8
Reaction score
9
Location
Ofallon MO
Ram Year
2017
Engine
5.7
this just happened to me as well in my 2017. Still barely under warranty. I guess ill be letting them know the instrument module is needing to be replaced. Im learning its easier to get stuff fixed just telling them its broke rather than just saying idk whats wrong why is it doing this because then they give you the "pass the buck" answers AKA long story short wont fix it.
 

DuallieJohn

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2022
Posts
1
Reaction score
1
Location
Tennessee
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.4L CC
Does anyone know if there's any way to find out THE ACTUAL numbers for IDLE hours and/or DRIVE hours...? The dealer, of course, said the PCM on my truck read the same as the dash - so IT'S NOT A MODULE ISSUE. He followed up with: "...those must be the numbers..." - never mind the fact that it's showing 264 DRIVE hours in 84,600 miles... mensa...
 

PA Ram

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Jan 1, 2023
Posts
174
Reaction score
166
Location
Quakertown, PA
Ram Year
2017
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Does anyone know if there's any way to find out THE ACTUAL numbers for IDLE hours and/or DRIVE hours...? The dealer, of course, said the PCM on my truck read the same as the dash - so IT'S NOT A MODULE ISSUE. He followed up with: "...those must be the numbers..." - never mind the fact that it's showing 264 DRIVE hours in 84,600 miles... mensa...
Bump for same question. I just ordered a 7" EVIC to upgrade my 2017 Ram's 3.5" EVIC and while sitting in my truck decided to look at my idle and drive hours since I will have to record them when I'm ready to swap. Well it says 885 idle hours or something close to that and 185 drive hours. It's the original EVIC and I've not messed with instrument cluster settings in Alfobd. So is there a way to pull correct numbers with alfaobd?
 

Jewkesman

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2022
Posts
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Tulsa,OK US
Ram Year
2017
Engine
5.7
I think it may reset when you fix or have fixed the evap system. Cause mine reset after I changed the evap sensor/vent at the back of the gas tank. My question is will a shifty dealer fork you at trade in over high idle and low drive miles
 

WY-Dave

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Jan 22, 2019
Posts
4,458
Reaction score
19,367
Location
Cheyenne, WY
Ram Year
2018 2500
Engine
6.7 CTD
Get actual engine Run/Idle hours

1) Cheapo OBD reader
2) Torque Pro ap - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.prowl.torque&hl=en_US
3) download free extended PIDs csv - https://drive.google.com/file/d/18CkJlaNAK3kr7jWknm3JzSOXp59bwoM4/view
4) add the extended PIDs in Torque Pro
a) open setting (gear) from main page
b) manage extra PIDs/Sensors
c) 3 dots - import CSV file

or if you have something else and can manually input PID info
1719207416668.png

1719208646761.png
1719208683167.png

My post on this https://www.ramforum.com/threads/true-engine-run-idle-hours-via-torque-pro-and-extended-pids.210015/
 

Hootbro

U.S. Army Veteran
Military
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Posts
2,745
Reaction score
1,971
Location
Delaware
Ram Year
2017 1500 Express 4x4
Engine
Pentastar 3.6L
My question is will a shifty dealer fork you at trade in over high idle and low drive miles
Unless you left the hours display up for them, I doubt most dealerships would even look at it when presented for trade and just go off mileage only as that is how they will present it when selling on their lot.
 

PA Ram

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Jan 1, 2023
Posts
174
Reaction score
166
Location
Quakertown, PA
Ram Year
2017
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Unless you left the hours display up for them, I doubt most dealerships would even look at it when presented for trade and just go off mileage only as that is how they will present it when selling on their lot.
You can also change mileage, at least what's displayed on the evic. Actual mileage is probably still stored same as hours.
 
Top