Few questions about oil catch can install

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Lamarsh

Reaction score
Ram Year
2020 1500 Rebel
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Just installed an oil catch can on my 2020 Ram. Been driving Rams for 15 years, and this is my first time with this mod. Went with the Billet Technologies one. Install was pretty easy, but left me with a few questions that I was hoping some on here can answer or provide insight:

(1) The instructions called for removal of the PCV hose line, but to keep the rubber elbow that attaches the hose to the PCV and use one of the double male end fitting to connect the hose that came with the catch can. But the video I watched just did away with the rubber elbow that attaches the OEM hose to the PCV, and just attached the catch can hose directly to the PCV. I tried both, and it seems attaching the hose that came with the catch can fit more snuggly on the PCV. The rubber elbow seemed to attach looser. But I ended up just following the directions and sticking with the rubber elbow and double male end fitting. I see no reason for the need for the elbow, but stuck with it because I don't know if there is a reason for it. Just wondering if anybody knows about this.