Fog light turns off when motor is running

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

futur49

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0L Ecodiesel
Hi, I just joined the forum today. Happy to be a part of the ram family. I would like to ask the community for help regarding my driver side fog light. I own a 2015 3.0L Ecodiesel. This is my first ram and also my first diesel. Ok on to my question. I am no electrician so please bare with my question. My driver side fog light is not functioning properly. I am assuming that there is electricity going to the fog and I will explain why. When the key is in the on position, I can turn my lights and fogs on. Everything functions. When I turn the motor on the driver side fog will blink a few times and stop working. Passenger side stays on. I am assuming somewhere else on the truck is pulling current away from the fog when the motor is turned on. When I turn the motor off, both fogs work properly again. Can anybody help me with a simple answer please. Thank you in advance.

OP
OP
F

futur49

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0L Ecodiesel
No leds. I have HID's with ballast. I have also extra ballast and bulbs and have swapped out to see if I had a defective one but nope. Same problem persist. I also have warning canceller attached.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
Can anybody help me with a simple answer please.
You might need to try a different error canceller/ant-flicker module. The tell-tale sign is they work when the engine is off and act up when the truck is running.
I have had the same issue in the past with my 15 EcoD, they're somewhat finicky about the lighting. It has nothing to do with being a diesel, the gassers do the same thing.
You can try changing them to LED outputs with AlfaOBD.