Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head Unit

Discussion in '3rd Gen DIY' started by TerrorByteFX, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. TerrorByteFX

    TerrorByteFX Junior Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Ram Year:
    2008
    Engine:
    V8 4.7 Liter FlexFuel
    I was trying to be cheap and keep the factory head unit but I was getting some major white noise from it. After a ton of adjustments to the speaker wiring and amplifier, I figured it was the head unit.

    Installed the new one and no more white noise. Here goes a link to the dash kit I used, Metra 95-6528B Dash Kit. I was impatient and purchased mine at an audio store and paid a premium for it too. You can find it cheaper on Amazon.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  2. PCA4208

    PCA4208 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    488
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Looks good! I'm about to do the same except I'm using a stock Nav bezel as to avoid that faceplate you used. For me it just makes for a cleaner looking install. Also I have the wood grain, so big black plastic on top of if would just look out of place for me.
     
  3. Superbrowndude

    Superbrowndude Junior Member

    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Ram Year:
    04 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Hey did you have to cut out any trim behind the radio before you installed the double din. I'm picking up my truck next week and got a Kenwood ddx394 and a sub and what not to install.
     
  4. TerrorByteFX

    TerrorByteFX Junior Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Ram Year:
    2008
    Engine:
    V8 4.7 Liter FlexFuel
    Yeah, you have to cut a couple of spots nothing big though. The only thing I don't like about the kit is that the radio is not flush with it.

    That's on my to do list though, shave it down a little.
     
  5. Christopher Scott

    Christopher Scott Junior Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Location:
    Paola, KS
    Ram Year:
    2007
    Engine:
    4.7
    what did you do to get it to not throw codes about not communicating with radio?... I’ve gotta ‘07 Big Horn I bought used and it already has an aftermarket stereo in it, and when i hook up my ht200 it shows codes thrown in multiple areas about the system not communicating with radio...??? Anyone have advice on this?
     

Share This Page