High beams only flash

Toooch

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2022
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
Maine
Ram Year
2014
Engine
5.7 hemi
Hey gang-
New here. I searched and found some related topics but not this exactly. Just got a 2014 1500 Laramie with 144K on it. Had been in a front end collision. New OEM headlights and fog lights. They work fine but the high beams only work when you pull the stick towards you to flash them. Pushing forward does nothing, but low beams stay on. I've turned the auto dim high beams in settings on and off and have made sure the fog lights are off. Same behavior no matter where the light switch is (auto/on).
It seems this is the multifunction switch? Anyone know if the aftermarket ones are any good or should I stick with Mopar?
Thanks!
 

SitKneelBend

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
8,030
Reaction score
3,894
Location
St. Louis
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
This issue sounds like something that will persist regardless of the headlight used.
 

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Posts
8,242
Reaction score
11,636
Ram Year
2015
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
Are the bulbs Halogen? and does this happen with the truck ignition on but the engine not running?
 
OP
OP
T

Toooch

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2022
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
Maine
Ram Year
2014
Engine
5.7 hemi
Are the bulbs Halogen? and does this happen with the truck ignition on but the engine not running?
Yes, halogen and I've tried it with every possible combination of the switch being on, off, auto, etc. Nothing works!
 

18CrewDually

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Posts
578
Reaction score
586
Location
U.S.
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Cummins 6.7 H.O.
Turn signal / highbeams stalk might be bad. Using a good scanner or AlphaOBD you can turn on the highbeams through the BCM to see if they work and narrow it down to faulty wiring or switch.
 

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Posts
8,242
Reaction score
11,636
Ram Year
2015
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
I've tried it with every possible combination of the switch being on, off, auto, etc. Nothing works!
If the high beams don't work with the ignition on but the engine not running, that will bypass the bulb detection. I will help you narrow down the problem.

As mentioned by 18CrewDually you might want to give AlfaOBD a try, I think you can see if the multifunction switch is commanding the BCM to illuminate the high beams.
 
OP
OP
T

Toooch

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2022
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
Maine
Ram Year
2014
Engine
5.7 hemi
Was unaware of AlfaOBD. Looks like I can get that and the connector pretty easily. Will give that a shot. Thanks!
 
Top