How heavy of a 5th wheel can I get with a 2017 Cummins Mega cab?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DEDAN

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins
I keep trying to calculate the weight for a fifth wheel for my 17 2500 mega cab Cummins and what I get from what I’ve heard is different. Can anyone help me out. I’ve been towing a 12k lb travel trailer for over 5 years and may be looking to upgrade depending on the weight I can haul. Thanks.

Irishthreeper

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
There are numerous threads on here with the 2500 Cummins debate. To save you a lot of reading, that truck can pull up trees but has a limited payload rating. Pin weight on a 5W will be a bigger consideration than the 5W weight. Good luck

chri5k

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Diesel
Depends on if you want to be talked down nattered by the forum payload police. If you do, then not much of one. If not, a pretty good sized one.

aaronedmonton

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Probably a very tiny select few, if any. The Mega Cab 2500s have a super low payload. My dad had one.

OC455

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018, 2019
Engine
5.7 Hemi Big Horn, 6.4L Hemi 3500 Longhorn Mega cab
I keep trying to calculate the weight for a fifth wheel for my 17 2500 mega cab Cummins and what I get from what I’ve heard is different. Can anyone help me out. I’ve been towing a 12k lb travel trailer for over 5 years and may be looking to upgrade depending on the weight I can haul. Thanks.
Look at your cargo capacity sticker on your drivers side door jamb to get your weight. You can also plug your pin into the VIN look up on the RAM Trucks Site: https://www.ramtrucks.com/towing/towing-guide.html#/landing/bytowing