Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Add Automatic Temperature Control (ATC) to a Manual Temperature Control Truck

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by DeereGuy, May 16, 2017.

  1. Ramagain

    Ramagain Member

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Location:
    Florida
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    6.7
    Just completed a 8.4 RA4 w/ Nav mod on my 2013 Tradesman 3500 dually w/RA1, manual rear view mirror, manual 4 speed HVAC, and cab clearance lights. No camera or park sense.
    -Used source parts all came out of a loaded 2016 1500 Sport CC 4x4.

    Parts used:
    -M2 Mods 7 speed harness with ATC and dual zone option. ( will be installing HVAC plenum from the donor truck with dual zone A/C).
    -New 68048901AA 7 speed resistor.
    -New HVAC control module pn 68105017AE
    -2016 rear view mirror w/ mic, auto dim, and rain sense. (Deleted humidity sensor and related wires from the wire harness and pinned out the connector for the cab lights + feed and wired "in line" the ground feed for the cab lights.)
    -2016 8.4 NA RA4 (w/active sirius travel link sub) winning!!!
    -2016 ATC sensor
    -2016 Dual Zone bezel
    - Alfa OBD software ver 2.1.9.5
    -Obd MX+ BT link model # MX201

    Plug and play. Set dual zone ATC parameters, waited a min then pulled radio fuse for a few min. Set single zone ATC, waited a min the pulled radio fuse for a few min.

    Initial startup went without a hitch. All manual and touch screen functions operate without hesitation. Didn't know I could use voice command for the climate control. Have used voice texting however and that worked as expected.

    Notes: 2016 fan blower from the 1500 has a built in resistor so I had to purchase a new separate Denso resistor. I was unaware of this until Monday. 2016 HVAC wire harness is not cross compatible for this mod as is the blower. HVAC module is also incompatible. The 2016 lower blower box is also not compatible without modification. It has no cutout for the resistor since it's part of the motor assy.

    Overall very stoked. Auto dim mirror assy. w/harness cost me 50, the head unit was 400, the bezel was free as was the HVAC assy. The new HVAC module and resistor came out to 125-ish. Wiring kit $ XXX.XX (see M2 mods price list w/options.)
    50 for the Alfa app and 40-ish for the OBD dongle.
    Total was well under 1k.
    I was quoted a price for this setup from an outside source of 1500+ and would be stuck with an OBD genie that was nothing more than a paperweight after its only use and still would have had to purchase the rearview mirror assy and OBD genie...
    Thanks Mike!
    , Shawn
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2020
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  2. Ramagain

    Ramagain Member

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Location:
    Florida
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    6.7
    Pics.

    20201223_184630.jpg

    20201223_184712.jpg
     
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  3. warrantchief

    warrantchief Junior Member

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Location:
    Truckee, CA
    Ram Year:
    2018
    Engine:
    6.7
    I seemingly have no issue with the upper vents when selected manually or the defrost vents when I press the front defrost button. Answers to the questionnaire below.

     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2020
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  4. RWOLVES

    RWOLVES Junior Member

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Location:
    USA
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    6.7
    IF EVER YOUR AIR ALL OF A SUDDEN QUITS BLOWING OR SPORADICALLY CUTS ON AND OFF TRY THIS, MINE STARTED DOING THIS, AND THIS VIDEO HELPED FIX IT.
     
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  5. MontyNC

    MontyNC Junior Member Military

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2020
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7
    Using alfa obd, how long after pulling the battery did it take for single zone atc to reset? UAQ Radio. I have tried to let it set with the battery off for 1 hour. It will not go into single zone atc from dual zone atc.
     
  6. crash68

    crash68 Senior Member

    Posts:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    7,235
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    3.0 EcoDiesel
    When I did my '15, I didn't pull the battery when making the change after setting to Dual ATC or Single ATC. It changed from Dual to Single somewhere between 5 to 10 minutes.
     
  7. MontyNC

    MontyNC Junior Member Military

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2020
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7
    -Here is my procedure
    -Verified it was single zone mtc
    -Changed it to dual zone atc
    -Removed negative battery cable for 1 hour
    -Reattached batter cable
    -Sirius xm button did not show up
    -Dual sliders are present and reads dual zone in bcm
    Set it to single zone atc
    Unhooked battery for 1 hour
    Reattached battery
    Sirius xm button is missing
    Dual sliders are still present
    Bcm reads single zone atc

    I can't figure out whats going on. My next step is to update the firmware.
     
    cclark019 likes this.
  8. cclark019

    cclark019 Junior Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ram Year:
    2018
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    Just pull the inline radio fuse that is near the brake booster for a minute or so.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. cclark019

    cclark019 Junior Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ram Year:
    2018
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    You also may need to cycle the ignition a couple times for the radio to reset.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    MontyNC likes this.
  10. MontyNC

    MontyNC Junior Member Military

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2020
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7
    Left the fuse off overnight, put the fuse in cycled the key a couple of times then let it sit an hour. Now its at where it needs to be. Thanks everyone for your help.
     
    cclark019 likes this.

Share This Page