Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Add Automatic Temperature Control (ATC) to a Manual Temperature Control Truck

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by DeereGuy, May 16, 2017.

  1. Beemer533

    Beemer533 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2014 Big Horn 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    So just to double check before I proceed with this mod;

    I have a 2014 2500 big horn and when I pulled the knee panel out, it looks like I am pre-wired for the sensor (black connector):
    20210110_130514.jpg

    So I think all I need to do is add the sensor PN 55111178AC and program with Alpha?

    As an aside, does anyone know what this white connector is for? It was basically right next to the black connector when I pulled the knee panel out.

    Thanks!
    20210110_130508.jpg
     
    Hardtime likes this.
  2. Ricks Ram

    Ricks Ram Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,217
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    The white connector is for non memory adjustable pedals. The black connector is for the interior temp sensor. You will also need to install the humidity sensor as well that mounts to the windshield on the right side of mirror if your truck is a 14 up 1500. If you don't install the humidity sensor your compressor will run continuously whenever you have the climate control adjusted to any setting in manual or auto mode. If you have a 13 1500 or a 2500/3500 up to18 the humidity sensor is not required because you won't have the variable rate compressor so you should be ok.

    Sent from my SM-G981U1 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2021
    Hardtime, Mpgrimm2 and Beemer533 like this.
  3. Beemer533

    Beemer533 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2014 Big Horn 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    Great, thanks for the confirmation. I've got a 2014 2500, so it looks like I don't need the humidity sensor.
     
    Hardtime likes this.
  4. Ricks Ram

    Ricks Ram Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,217
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    No, you don't need one. I usually post the full explanation just because in many cases other members may see it and be confused as to why they did or didn't need it when someone else did. Just makes it easier so the thread doesn't go back and forth forever.

    Sent from my SM-G981U1 using Tapatalk
     
    Hardtime, Mpgrimm2 and Beemer533 like this.
  5. Beemer533

    Beemer533 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2014 Big Horn 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    No problem, that makes sense. I can't see signatures on the mobile browser, so I wasn't sure if you had seen mine.

    Well, I just ordered the sensor, definitely looking forward to this mod.
     
    Ricks Ram likes this.
  6. Beemer533

    Beemer533 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2014 Big Horn 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    My sensor came in yesterday and I got it installed with no issues. It is really nice to have ATC for sure!

    Thanks guys for the writeup and help..
     
    Hardtime likes this.
  7. Hardtime

    Hardtime Junior Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    CTD
    Beemer, thank you so much for noticing this and posting! I have been waiting a couple of weeks for Mike G. to come back online so I could put an order in for the ATC harness. When I saw your post I literally ran out to my 2015 Big Horn 3500 to check -- it was pre-wired for the temp sensor just like yours!

    Quick question: did you check the connector for HVAC module (next to the glove box), or do we just assume that we have correct harness if the temp sensor harness is present?

    Thanks again!
     
  8. Ricks Ram

    Ricks Ram Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,217
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    It's definitely a nice feature. In the summer mine pretty much stays on auto 24/7. I keep in manual a lot in the fall and spring and just run the vent to try not to put to much wear and tear on the compressor since it's always engaged when you are on auto.

    Sent from my SM-G981U1 using Tapatalk
     
  9. Beemer533

    Beemer533 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2014 Big Horn 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    No problem, glad to save you some cash!

    I'm not sure which harness you are referring to, unless you mean for the humidity sensor?

    Since I have a 2014 2500 I don't have a humidity sensor and actually as you have a 3500 you don't either. Everything seems to be working correctly, so it's likely you'll be in the same position as you are pre wired as well.
     
    Hardtime likes this.
  10. Beemer533

    Beemer533 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Location:
    NY
    Ram Year:
    2014 Big Horn 2500
    Engine:
    Hemi 6.4
    Is the Compressor always on in auto? I thought it would only be on for defrost or AC...

    Well, good to know for sure, I don't want to run it continuously
     

Share This Page