How to Add Automatic Temperature Control (ATC) to a Manual Temperature Control Truck

umbighouse

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Posts
193
Reaction score
104
Location
Oklahoma
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6L 305HP 6 Cyl
Radio isn't resetting
I installed my 8.4" UAS following the instructions in this thread. @Mpgrimm2 did a really great job outlining the process, and it went mostly well.

When I first powered on the new unit, I was able to unlock the security code and access the menus. However, the display in front of the steering wheel (is this called EVIC?) shows a "LOCKED RADIO" even though I can do everything on the radio itself.

In addition, I used AlphaOBD to change from Dual Zone ATC -> Single Zone ATC (I unplugged the battery and the fuse for 30+ min, but the radio still shows dual zone.

The SXM logo doesn't appear nor does the backup camera video show on screen in reverse.

Any ideas?

Should I do a reset all settings on the radio with that screen option?

IMG_7299.JPG
(This message appears even though I can use the radio)

IMG_7300.JPG
(Radio screen menus are unlocked. No SXM logo though...)
 
Last edited:

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,753
Reaction score
3,801
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
@umbighouse
Sent you a text & email ...
Clay, you are going to have to set it back to Single Zone MTC, pull the inline radio fuse, wait for the radio to finish it's reset and start again. And you MUST WAIT for the SxM button to come back before proceeding to the next change as previously mentioned in email. The radio doesn't finish it's reset until then
 

Earl Zeis

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2019
Posts
91
Reaction score
41
Location
Saint Thomas, PA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.7L
Radio isn't resetting
I installed my 8.4" UAS following the instructions in this thread. @Mpgrimm2 did a really great job outlining the process, and it went mostly well.

When I first powered on the new unit, I was able to unlock the security code and access the menus. However, the display in front of the steering wheel (is this called EVIC?) shows a "LOCKED RADIO" even though I can do everything on the radio itself.

In addition, I used AlphaOBD to change from Dual Zone ATC -> Single Zone ATC (I unplugged the battery and the fuse for 30+ min, but the radio still shows dual zone.

The SXM logo doesn't appear nor does the backup camera video show on screen in reverse.

Any ideas?

Should I do a reset all settings on the radio with that screen option?

View attachment 264679
(This message appears even though I can use the radio)

View attachment 264680
(Radio screen menus are unlocked. No SXM logo though...)

Wait at least an hour after each thing you do for the radio to refresh itself. I could never get it to refresh by pulling the fuse. Make a change, lock the truck, come back at least an hour later and it should be good. Then you can do the next change then wait again. They aren't fast to refresh after changes. The Chrysler scan tool can force them to refresh. Without it, it's just a waiting game.
 

umbighouse

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Posts
193
Reaction score
104
Location
Oklahoma
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6L 305HP 6 Cyl
I pulled the fuse for an hour and put it back in. Still not getting the SXM icon (I do see the Sirius logo on the startup splash screen). But it's not resetting. Should I do the screen menu reset all settings?

I also don't see any options in the menus for Safety and Driving Assistance, Miiror and Wipers, Lights, Doors and Locks.

The System Information menu only shows an option for Software License, but no version info.

The Locked Radio message did go away in the EVIC, but still no backup camera. When I put it in reverse, the EVIC just says Vehicle not in Park.

I think I matched up the wires right but here are the connections.
928BEB9E-AC43-4DA8-9EC3-8932A7730032.jpeg
 
Last edited:

Earl Zeis

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2019
Posts
91
Reaction score
41
Location
Saint Thomas, PA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.7L
I pulled the fuse for an hour and put it back in. Still not getting the SXM icon (I do see the Sirius logo on the startup splash screen). But it's not resetting. Should I do the screen menu reset all settings?
Don't bother with the fuse or battery connections. Lock the truck and come back later. Hour or more. Or over night.

Earl
 

umbighouse

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Posts
193
Reaction score
104
Location
Oklahoma
Ram Year
2014
Engine
3.6L 305HP 6 Cyl
I mistakenly updated my Post # 965 with the latest info...
 

Earl Zeis

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2019
Posts
91
Reaction score
41
Location
Saint Thomas, PA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.7L
I pulled the fuse for an hour and put it back in. Still not getting the SXM icon (I do see the Sirius logo on the startup splash screen). But it's not resetting. Should I do the screen menu reset all settings?

I also don't see any options in the menus for Safety and Driving Assistance, Miiror and Wipers, Lights, Doors and Locks.

The System Information menu only shows an option for Software License, but no version info.

The Locked Radio message did go away in the EVIC, but still no backup camera. When I put it in reverse, the EVIC just says Vehicle not in Park.

I think I matched up the wires right but here are the connections.
View attachment 319577

Your radio hasn't refreshed yet. How long are you allowing it to sleep so it can refresh itself?

Earl
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,753
Reaction score
3,801
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque

Vic Nov

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Posts
5
Reaction score
1
Location
NJ
Ram Year
2013
Engine
4.7
-------------------- Edit -------------------

I was thinking about grabbing an extra dual zone bezel if i can nab one for cheap to try and combine parts between them.

I will pm Steve to see what he did vs starting blind since we were apparently thinking the same thing. I would love to see the look on the dealer tech's face during my next oil change if they saw a single zone ATC bezel. "sha wing!"

-------------------- Edit 2 -------------------

Well, I have successfully pulled off a single Zone ATC bezel mod after about 8 hrs of work and repairing a partially damaged board. Very difficult to do without a $1000+ SMD repair station, but it can be done.

I would give this a 9 or 10 on the difficulty scale because of the small size of the components/traces.
(I ruined the LED's on a single zone MTC board 'practicing' for this, which is very easy to do)

Big thanks to Steve for the idea and some pointers to pull it off!

View attachment 381577

*Contact me by PM or see our M² Mods thread for pricing to get one if interested *

----------- Items needed --------------

- Dual Zone ATC bezel
View attachment 381578

- Single Zone MTC button assy
(discard the rest of the MTC bezel)
View attachment 381579

- 28awg annealed magnet wire
- (1) 20k ohm 0603 SMD resistor
- small soldering stuff: 3x-4x jeweler's magnifying headset, ESD mat/strap, hot tweezers, Variable temp soldering iron with smallest tip (ie Weller wes51 & ET0 1/32" tip), regular tweezers, etc.

- Patience! Lots of patience!



----- Overview ----

As a basic overview, your have to cut some traces on the ATC board, remap the buttons with magnet wire, and switch the left side LEDs (red vs blue) and their current limiting resistors. Plus use the button assy from a single zone...
View attachment 381580

Here's some pictures:

Before:
View attachment 381581
View attachment 381582

After:
View attachment 381583
View attachment 381584

Final:
View attachment 381585

M² Mods - From my non Flammable S7!
 
Top