How to: Add Dual Zone ATC to a Tradesman

STecoD

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Posts
162
Reaction score
170
Location
NorCal
Ram Year
2015 Crew Cab Tradesman
Engine
3.0L Diesel
I have had single zone ATC for my truck for awhile and wanted to look into doing the mod of converting it over to dual zone ATC. I was looking at the difference in the wiring and the parts to get it done. While the parts aren't that much, the work involved is pretty fun. I would like to thank @Ricks Ram for the help tearing my truck apart and putting it all back together and @Mpgrimm2 for helping with sending me a harness.

The first thing to do is get the freon recovered and then remove the dash of the truck. A side note before you do this on a Crew cab, the vents that are under the carpet should be disconnected before pulling the dash. Else you will not be able to disconnect them with the dash laying over them. A great video series on this is
xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media


You have to unplug all the wiring like is said in the videos.
You must be registered for see images attach


Unbolt the 6 bolts on either side of the dash.
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach

Unbolt the 2 bolts at the front of the dash.

Unplug the battery, obd2 port, hood release, footwell light, parking brake release, both large connectors, and the brake sensor and unbolt the steering column by removing the 4 nuts and then remove the two bolts under the steering wheel. The dash will now pull forward by lifting it up slightly.
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach


You have to remove the freon lines and the heater hoses to get the box out. Unbolt the box to make it easier to get the heater hoses released.
You must be registered for see images attach

Once you have the old box out with the fan, now would be a good time to install a cabin air filter, you need to pull the wiring off the old box and install on the new plenum box( you can also clean the condenser if it's dirty). You have to add one wire to pin 6 of the grey plug and then tap into the DB/PK wire that goes to pin 12 on the grey plug to make the connections for the new blend motor.
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach


Reinstall the box and the dash.

You will now have to pin the HVAC module plug in pin 3 to pin 6 of the grey plug. Get the A/C recharged. Use Alfa to set to Dual zone ATC. Enjoy playing with it.
You must be registered for see images attach


Parts I used.
1- HVAC plenum box 68214902AB eBay
1- Blend motor 68089742AA eBay used
1- Blend door connectors 571-1456985-3
2- Blend door pins 571-1393366-1
1- HVAC-Plug pins 571-1123343-1
1/1- Grey plug pins (I32A) 7114-4112-02 and 7116-4112-02
 
Last edited:

ps2012st

Junior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Posts
26
Reaction score
12
Location
Cathedral City, CA
Ram Year
2018 Express Regular Cab
Engine
3.6 Pentastar
Wow..that was some monumental undertaking for dual zone A/C. Congrats on your hard work and for documenting here.
 

mjf6175

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2017
Posts
424
Reaction score
353
Location
NJ
Ram Year
2017
Engine
cummins
Holy ****........talk about diving right into the deep end of the pool......MAJOR PROPS to you. I would never be able do this to my Ram, my severe case of OCD just would not allow this. I would have to be de-fibrillated half way through this. In fact I almost went there just looking at your pics. CONGRATS on the mod once again...........
 

Ricks Ram

Senior Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Posts
4,411
Reaction score
3,341
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Nice write up! A quick note we are doing my Quad Cab next. I already ordered the Dual Zone plenum box for my truck. The part number for my 2014 Quad Cab is. 68048891AF. The plenum box is really not that expensive. I ordered mine from Benny at Allmoparoarts.com and is was under $150. The biggest part of doing the job is taking the truck in to have the freon evacuated from the system so you can take the box out and then refilling it when you are done. Pulling the dash wasn't as hard as one might think. Looking forward to doing mine next.


Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 

Ghost_RAM

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Posts
1,367
Reaction score
1,070
Location
VA
Ram Year
2016
Engine
Hemi 5.7
No, no, no...No. I will not be following you in doing this on mine. Lol

Great write-up StecoD! You guys always do amazing work
 

Ricks Ram

Senior Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Posts
4,411
Reaction score
3,341
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Lol! I said the same thing when STecoD hit me up about doing his. The guy has no fear he just goes for it....... I was like of course I'll help you do yours but I'm not doing mine......next thing you know we got his done and I ordered the box for mine! It looks hard but honestly it's not that bad. Besides paying to have your freon evacuated and then refilled it's really not that expensive. It's probably a total of a $175 for the blend door motor, plenum box and the wiring needed. It's a lot cheaper than a lot of mods we actually do just a little bit more involved. Also it works perfectly. We were fortunate because my son-in-law works at a fleet dealership. He evacuated the system for us and then refilled it for no charge because there was no freon used. He just put the freon back in that he took out.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 

Ghost_RAM

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Posts
1,367
Reaction score
1,070
Location
VA
Ram Year
2016
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Ok, fine. Just let me know when you two are going to be here and I'll make sure to order the parts.

I am seriously considering this but I have a few other items on the list that need taken care of first. There is one thing I can say is there is nothing that can't be done to our Rams now. At least I can't think of anything.


Edit: Linked to Alfa OP
 
Last edited:

STecoD

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Posts
162
Reaction score
170
Location
NorCal
Ram Year
2015 Crew Cab Tradesman
Engine
3.0L Diesel
Holy ****........talk about diving right into the deep end of the pool......MAJOR PROPS to you. I would never be able do this to my Ram, my severe case of OCD just would not allow this. I would have to be de-fibrillated half way through this. In fact I almost went there just looking at your pics. CONGRATS on the mod once again...........

It’s not too bad. Had it evacuated and had the box swapped and still made it to work the same day. Have to keep the daily driver going. Problem I ran into was when I wanted to get it recharged I ran into scheduling issues. Got a little toasty.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Remen

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Posts
51
Reaction score
25
Location
CA
Ram Year
2017
Engine
3.0L Diesel
Outstanding! I just finished the single ATC modification using Mpgrimm2’s harnesses and couldn’t be happier. Now I know this upgrade is possible and would bring even more smiles to my face. I’ll need to get started before the heat rises in the Central Valley.
 

Ricks Ram

Senior Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Posts
4,411
Reaction score
3,341
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I just got my HVAC box. STecoD and I will be doing mine soon. Total price with shipping $147. It's a pretty big job but definitely doable and not very expensive.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
 
Top