Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to: Add Dual Zone ATC to a Tradesman

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by STecoD, May 3, 2019.

  1. Remen

    Remen Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    3.0L Diesel
    Here are snapshots of HVAC module test results.
    IMG_3591.JPG IMG_3592.JPG IMG_3593.JPG
    Maybe a bad module? Wiring harness tested good.
     
  2. Jimmy07

    Jimmy07 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,789
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    One thing they both have in common is right blend door binding. If this is the case, B11C8 will set off B11C9. I can post photos of the troubleshooting if you need it.
     
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  3. Remen

    Remen Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    3.0L Diesel
    That would be awesome! When I replaced the actuator I made sure the blend door wasn't binding throughout it's travel.
     
  4. Jimmy07

    Jimmy07 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,789
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  5. Jimmy07

    Jimmy07 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,789
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.4 Hemi
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  6. Remen

    Remen Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    3.0L Diesel
    Thanks! Looks like I'll be busy tomorrow..
     
  7. Ricks Ram

    Ricks Ram Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,220
    Likes Received:
    3,103
    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Thanks for the info Jimmy07 I'm going to copy that info for myself. You never know when you may have an issue. I will say after helping STecoD with his and installing my own the blend doors on the HVAC box don't seem like they would bind up to easily but I guess anything is possible. At least you were able to retrieve some codes to help point you in the right direction with Jimmy07's trouble shooting guide. Hopefully you will find something when you pull it apart.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
     
  8. Remen

    Remen Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    3.0L Diesel
    Didn’t start troubleshooting until this afternoon. Cleared the codes and calibrated the actuators. Got the same fault codes again. Decided to replace the wire from the HVAC module to the grey inline plug. Just in case the pulse rate is being influenced by the type wire, used aircraft grade wire. It’ll be a busy weekend so efforts will resume next week.
     
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  9. Remen

    Remen Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    3.0L Diesel
    After family visits and other necessary events I was finally able to resume troubleshooting the HVAC issue last Saturday. To confirm that the actuator wasn’t binding I decided to remove the panel. l followed the same steps as before to disconnect and remove the actuator and confirmed the passenger temp door wasn’t binding.
     
  10. Remen

    Remen Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    3.0L Diesel
    Sunday I rewired the actuator plug to the grey plug and checked continuity with positive results. Reinstalled the passenger temp actuator and used the troubleshooting guides provided by jimmy07 to pinpoint location of the HVAC issue. All the wiring checked normal but error codes B11C8 and B11C9 returned after resetting. The end result to both code errors pointed to a bad HVAC module. Finally, something concrete. Thanks again jimmy07!
     

Share This Page