Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How To: Install a 2018 4C (UAQ/UAS) Radio in 2013 - 2017 RAM

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by DeereGuy, Feb 21, 2018.

  1. BeardedContractor

    BeardedContractor Junior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2021
    Location:
    SE VA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    CTD
    I know there were a couple of people on here asking about progress with my 2016 2500 UAQ swap. I have tried two seperate radios (both from infotainment.com), replaced the Heated Seat Module to latest revision, tried everything I can with AlfaOBD, ordered the wiring harness infotainment sells for the 14 trucks, and even had the firmware of my BCM updtated by the dealer this morning. Nothing has worked. I cannot get the heated/cooled seat controls on screen to work. I don't have hard buttons for this function as my truck has factory upfitter switches. I can see the buttons on the screen but they are greyed out and do not function. If the ambient temp is low or high enough the seats will come on automatically but I cannot control them. If I turn off the auto on in comfort features and start the truck with ambient temp low enough, then re-enable it for all starts they will come on but again with no control over level or being able to turn them off. Does anyone have anything else they would suggest? I am at my wits end with this thing.
     
  2. Mpgrimm2

    Mpgrimm2 Senior Member Preferred Vendor Military

    Posts:
    5,311
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Ram Year:
    2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
    Engine:
    5.7L eTorque
  3. Roman217

    Roman217 Senior Member

    Posts:
    322
    Likes Received:
    269
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Location:
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    5.7
    I might have the code somewhere that is used for the heated seat fix module. Let me check to see what it's doing.

    Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk
     
  4. randerson0248

    randerson0248 Junior Member

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2021
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ram Year:
    2019
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi
    I bought the radio from a salvage yard in Warren Michigan, so the radio didn't travel very far from home until I bought it.
     
  5. BeardedContractor

    BeardedContractor Junior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2021
    Location:
    SE VA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    CTD
    Yeah sorry I mentioned it in the previous post but called it the wiring harness. I have been in touch with Infotainment (or at least trying to) for the logest time. In fact they never got back to me for the promised RMA and refund for the 4C Interface they promised so I still have it. They have the worst customer service reposonse. Tried everything I can think of to this point.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2021
  6. BeardedContractor

    BeardedContractor Junior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2021
    Location:
    SE VA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    CTD
    That would be awesome if you can find it and it works. My remote start stopped working now too so a bunch of fun stuff to try to trouble shoot now.
     
  7. Roman217

    Roman217 Senior Member

    Posts:
    322
    Likes Received:
    269
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Location:
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    5.7
    @chrisbh17 sent me the code that he had for it. I will bake that into the code we used to fix the BSM retrofit errors on the 1500s as the process is pretty similar.

    This is will need to be on the CAN IHS line between the truck and the radio. You may want to get a small CAN junction block like this: 68084589AA. This way you won't need to splice the CAN lines. I will keep you posted.
     
    SitKneelBend and chrisbh17 like this.
  8. BeardedContractor

    BeardedContractor Junior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2021
    Location:
    SE VA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    CTD
    Awesome. I will need any tutorials you might be able to provide as well as I am competely novice at this kind of stuff. I do have the ability to send CAN commands through my tuner (EZ-Lynk) if that is a possibility or easier. I ahave also attached some screen shots so we are on the same page.

    20210331_122509.jpg

    20210331_122519.jpg

    20210331_122856.jpg

    20210331_122509.jpg

    20210331_122519.jpg
     
  9. Roman217

    Roman217 Senior Member

    Posts:
    322
    Likes Received:
    269
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Location:
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    5.7
    Are you able to log CAN messages with it too? If so, can you filter on message ID 24E with the engine running and with the ignition in RUN but engine off?

    Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk
     
  10. BeardedContractor

    BeardedContractor Junior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2021
    Location:
    SE VA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    CTD
    I know it is able to log some information, I am headed outside to mess with it was much as I can and see if I can find anything that may help.
     

Share This Page